Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Developer
Posts: 1,178
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Storm 2, canvas, too sensitive, I didn't had to press the screen to select an option.

[ Edited ]

Hi, I'm using JavaME canvas to draw my own user interface.

 

To catch the touch events I'm using the pointerDragged(), pointerReleased(), pointerPressed() methods.

 

Same code runs well on quite almost J2ME phones, on Symbian JVM, on Android ecc. ecc...

 

Some customers claim that the touch events are too sensitive on Storm 2, claims that they don't need to press the screen to select an option. How this is possible?

 

Is there another way to manage this problem? What is the way to catch Canvas touch event on Storm 2 and manage the screen pressed or not pressed? Thanks.

 

PS: On the Storm 2 9550 simulator there is no problem and the software works like a charm, why not on real device?

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 1,807
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.3.2.858, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.2576, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.2582, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.1.2576, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Storm 2, canvas, too sensitive, I didn't had to press the screen to select an option.

If you are fine with it (since it destroys portability) you can use BlackBerryCanvas, it is the same as Canvas only it includes touch event support.

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Developer
Posts: 1,178
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Storm 2, canvas, too sensitive, I didn't had to press the screen to select an option.

[ Edited ]

is there a solution to that problem using the standard J2ME canvas?

 

no one here use J2ME canvas with touch events?

 

I can't understand why with J2ME canvas pointerPressed() works also without pressing the screen.

Developer
Developer
Posts: 1,123
Registered: ‎02-10-2009
My Device: 8130 / 8350 / 9530 / 9550 / 9850 / PlayBook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Storm 2, canvas, too sensitive, I didn't had to press the screen to select an option.

Seeing as how the Storm is the only click screen touch phone available, I would believe this is the expected behavior. You can use touch functionality in your blackberry apps, you don't have to click the screen, that just adds an extra dimension.

Developer
Posts: 1,178
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Storm 2, canvas, too sensitive, I didn't had to press the screen to select an option.

two customers claimed that apps that react without pressing the screen are unusable...

can't understand why.

Developer
Developer
Posts: 1,123
Registered: ‎02-10-2009
My Device: 8130 / 8350 / 9530 / 9550 / 9850 / PlayBook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Storm 2, canvas, too sensitive, I didn't had to press the screen to select an option.

If you want to guarantee the click functionality, you'll need to use the BB specific classes.

Developer
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Storm 2, canvas, too sensitive, I didn't had to press the screen to select an option.

With my experience it is better if you could port your application with blackberry classes...........It will help you to handle touch screen better

Developer
Posts: 1,178
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Storm 2, canvas, too sensitive, I didn't had to press the screen to select an option.

sincerely I'm not really interested in the click functionality, my only interest is that touch events must works well. as far as I know Opera doesn't support click due to opera uses J2ME classes, this is ok for me but the problem is to manage the correct sensibility using J2ME classes. I accept tips if someone had some experience using J2ME canvas with BB Storm 2. Thanks.