Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Developer
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-08-2009
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Strange build error after code checked into Subversion

Folks-

 

I'm trying to use Subversion to track my source code. I'm using TortoiseSVN as my client software. I checked in my java files, my Eclipse .project and .classpath and my JDP file. I then deleted the whole Subversion project and got clean code from SVN. I now get the following error when I do a clean:

 

Build problems
  Errors during build.
    Errors running builder 'BlackBerry Resources Builder' on project 'KitchenValet'.
    Could not compile file
    java.io.FileNotFoundException: C:\Documents and Settings\Christopher Keith\My Documents\fCode\KitchenValet\src\com\KitchenValet\.svn\ent.rrh (The system cannot find the file specified)
 

I don't understand why the development system is looking for a file in a .svn directory. FYI, here is the contents of my jdp file. The lines containng ".svn" in the "ExcludeFromBuildAll" section seem to have been added when I ran Eclipse after getting clean source:

 

## RIM Java Development Environment
# RIM Project file
#
# This file is generated and managed by BlackBerry developer tools.
# It SHOULD NOT BE modified manually.
#
AddOn=0
AlwaysBuild=0
[AlxImports
]
AutoRestart=0
[ClassProtection
]
[CustomBuildFiles
]
[CustomBuildRules
]
[DefFiles
]
[DependsOn
]
ExcludeFromBuildAll=0
[Files
src\.svn\entries
src\com\.svn\entries
src\com\KitchenValet\.svn\entries
src\com\KitchenValet\.svn\text-base\KitchenValetApp.java.svn-base
src\com\KitchenValet\.svn\text-base\KitchenValetScreen.java.svn-base
src\com\KitchenValet\KitchenValetApp.java
src\com\KitchenValet\KitchenValetScreen.java
]
HaveAlxImports=0
HaveDefs=0
HaveImports=0
[Icons
]
[ImplicitRules
]
[Imports
]
Listing=0
Options=-quiet
OutputFileName=KitchenValet
[PackageProtection
]
RibbonPosition=0
[RolloverIcons
]
RunOnStartup=0
StartupTier=7
SystemModule=0
Type=0
UserData=|src

Thanks In Advance for any help.
New Developer
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-08-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Strange build error after code checked into Subversion

Followup: I finally just set up two different directories, one for code editing and another for checking code in and out. Mildly tedious to copy files back and forth, but I am now able to get work done on both of my dev machines.
New Developer
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-29-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Strange build error after code checked into Subversion

Has this issue been properly addressed yet?
New Developer
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-08-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Strange build error after code checked into Subversion

This still happens to me. I'm just kludging around it by having a "working" directory separate from my SVN directory. Takes a little housekeeping when copying files around, but it gets me past the problem.
New Developer
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-27-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Strange build error after code checked into Subversion

I have been having this problem as well. I am using the eclipse full install from the website and tortoiseSVN as well. I need a better fix than copying sourcefiles around by hand.

Developer
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎10-21-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Strange build error after code checked into Subversion

I am also having same issue.

 

I am doing a similar thing, one folder for SVN, another for Eclipse.

 

Any fixes / any other suggestions ?

 

---

Aditya

New Developer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Strange build error after code checked into Subversion

I'm experiencing the same problem using the BlackBerry Eclipse Plug-in + TortoiseSVN.

Is there anyone who was able to use the BlackBerry JDE Plug-In with a SVN-managed project, maybe by using Eclipse SVN integration plug-ins?

New Developer
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-27-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Strange build error after code checked into Subversion

[ Edited ]

Here is another thread on the same topic, I couldn't get MSohm's suggestion to work. If it works for you please post your solution.

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/Errors-with-Eclipse-JDE-Plug-In-and-Subversi...

New Developer
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-27-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Strange build error after code checked into Subversion

[ Edited ]
 
Highlighted
New Developer
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-27-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Strange build error after code checked into Subversion

Not sure if other people are experiencing this problem. The solution I found was to turn off auto building (if its already off turn it on and turn it off again). Its the last menu item under projects. To build select "build active blackberry configuration" under the projects menu. Seems to work for me.