Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Developer
My Device: Not Specified

Support multiple BB device types.

Hi, I'm new to Blackberry Development.  I've been going through some of the tutorials and other Documentation, and noticed that there are different recommended best practices for different BB devices (e.g. Those with trackball  or trackpad vs. touch screen, etc.)

My question is, should I maintain different source code branches for different device types, or is there a way to tell what device it is, and the sprinkle the code with if/then where needed?

Thanks for your help,

Victor Ewert
http://www.ewert-technologies.ca
Developer

Re: Support multiple BB device types.

[ Edited ]

Welcome!

An often asked question as I'm sure you would have guessed.  There are many answers, depending on the type of company (for example, if they use automated build processes) and the type of application.

The curve ball is the requirement for different OS's.  OS's are forwards but not backwards compatible.  For example, if you are compiling for an OS 4.5 device (Curve 8300), you can not include stuff that is specific to the Storm (OS 4.7), because the OS 4.5 won't recognize it.  Even if you never run the portion of code with the OS 4.7 API call, if there is 4.7 (for example, touch screen) specific code in your built application, your application will not run on a device that runs an OS before 4.7.

You can use a preprocessor on a single code base to get round this problem, so you require multiple builds depending on your OS requirements.  Or have multiple projects with multiple branches.

Second curve ball is the Storm's habit of running in compatibility mode if the application was compiled for an OS before 4.7.  So to get a Storm running nicely immeidately you have to compile using 4.7 OS.