Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎03-06-2009
My Device: Not Specified

System.out.println not displaying anyting

Hello,

 

I'm using the JDE 4.2.1.

When I do a system.out.println(), nothing appears in the DEBUG tab of the JDE.

 

Did I change a setting?

 

When I debug I rpess F5, the simulator launches itself, attaches itself sucessfully, I do get some messages in the DEBUG tab

 

(DN+

AG,+SM,USID=-1

AG,+CPT

TP,Tx,SZ=22,USID=-1,TID=0,SID=910045930,CLID=1,ECLID=1,SEQ=1,LSEQ=1

AG,USID=-1,STY=1,+SESS,SID=910045930,CLID=1,TIM=20

net.rim.vad: DONE

GME Rx Cid: IPPP

GME Rx Cid: IPPP

GME Rx Cid: IPPP [...])

 

but I put println in a lot of function (no way they are not executed) and nothing appears in the console.

 

Any idea which setting I could have changed??

 

thanks 

Developer
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: System.out.println not displaying anyting

There is no setting to disable this output, AFAIK.

 

Place a breakpoint on one of you System.out statements, and make sure it is executing.

 

I suspect that you are not running the same code in the simulator as you are looking at in your debug window.

Developer
Posts: 507
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: System.out.println not displaying anyting

Add special whitespace to your System.out.println output to view these strings in Output window in JDE.

For example:

System.out.println("!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! START DEBUG OUTPUT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!");

System.out.println("myVariable: " + String.valueOf(myVariable));

// etc .....

System.out.println("!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! END DEBUG OUTPUT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!");
----------------
if your issue solved set "Solution" mark at the relevant post
Developer
Posts: 507
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: System.out.println not displaying anyting

Also make sure that execution reaches the place where your System.out.println() code located.

To do this you can use System.out.println() calls too.
----------------
if your issue solved set "Solution" mark at the relevant post
New Developer
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-05-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: System.out.println not displaying anyting

I  had the same problem with eclipse at some point the output did not appear in the console . My quick and dirty solution was to reinstall eclipse and the rim plugin.   Fixed.Smiley Very Happy
Developer
Posts: 507
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: System.out.println not displaying anyting

Long time ago my quick and dirty solution was that I quit using Eclipse and went to Netbeans Smiley Happy
----------------
if your issue solved set "Solution" mark at the relevant post