Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Developer
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Trouble installing Eclipse w/ BlackBerry plug-in

Hi.  I'm an experienced developer, but a newbie to Eclipse and Blackberry development.  I'm following along the tutorial video entitled "BlackBerry® JDE Plug-in for Eclipse Installation and Configuration" (http://www.blackberry.com/DevMediaLibrary/view.do?name=eclipseJDE.)  I've installed the all-in-one package (BlackBerry_JDE_PluginFull_1.0.0.67.exe), but when I open the workspace, there's no BlackBerry menu.  Can anyone help me troubleshoot my installation?

If it makes any difference, I'm running Windows Vista SP1 (32-bit).

Thanks,
  Andrew

Developer

Re: Trouble installing Eclipse w/ BlackBerry plug-in

Andrewcr,

Installations on vista seem to be problematic. I run on windows XP pro because I had similiar problems installing android (Blackberry works fine but has errors running simulators). Eclipse seems stable on xp.

Also, make sure your using the JDE installation and not trying to install MDS. MDS doesnt have a blackberry menu.

Mobile Enhancement Studios
New Developer

Thanks for the quick response.  I have to admit though, I was hoping there was a better answer than "change to another OS."  I'm well aware that Vista is substandard, but it's what I've got to work with right now.

Yes, I am installing JDE.  (The installer is BlackBerry_JDE_PluginFull_1.0.0.67.exe, which includes Eclipse and the JDE plug-in.)

Does anyone have this working on Vista?

Thanks,

Andrew

New Developer

I also am using XP and have no experience with Vista, but I have read that if you install Eclipse/BB JDE on a separate disk drive from your Vista install (Vista on C: drive and Eclipse/BB JDE on D: etc) it may work.

Hope this helps!

New Developer