Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Highlighted
New Developer
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-08-2009
My Device: Not Specified

UDP & TCP connections on same port

Hi,

 

After lot of struggle, I'm able to get both TCP & UDP connections

working on a Blackberry device.

 

But our application needs to open listening connetions(one tcp and one udp) on the same port 

Application works fine with the emulator but when I try to run it on the device (BB Bold),

it throws exception (Port alredy in use) while trying to open second connection. 

 

I was wondering if BB puts any restriction for this or not because this is a very normal case, if yes then it should

not work on the simulator as well.

 

Please suggest. 

 

 

Developer
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: UDP & TCP connections on same port

Interesting. I have the same issue on Pearl 8120 v4.5.0.124 (Platform 2.7.0.92). However, it works fine on Curve 8900 v4.6.1.231 (Platform 4.2.0.108) and a Bold 9000. All of these tests were performed on the WLAN interface.
New Developer
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-08-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: UDP & TCP connections on same port

Thanks for the reply!

 

I tried on both WiFi and GPRS, but no joy.

 

Our application would not be complete unless we achieve this Smiley Sad

 

Can you suggest anything, surprisingly for you, its working on BB bold 

We have latest BB Bold s/w (4.6.0.245 ), but still not able to get through.

Developer
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: UDP & TCP connections on same port

From what I can tell, it appears to be a bug in certain releases of handheld software. There isn't much you can do about it. You can report the issue to RIM (e.g., Developer Issue Tracker) and make sure it gets fixed in future releases. May be they'll be able to suggest a workaround for existing handheld software that is prone to this bug.
New Developer
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-08-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: UDP & TCP connections on same port

Oh! It seems I'm using a buggy OS Smiley Sad

Though we purchased the device just few weeks back.

OS version is: 4.6.0.245 

 

Thanks anyways, I'll report this to RIM. 

Developer
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: UDP & TCP connections on same port

It's probably be a bug (feature?) that has been there for years. It's not just your handset.