Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Visitor
My Device: Not Specified

USB Serial Port Communication

I'm new to developing applications for Blackberry, so bear with me if this question is too naive.  I have searched and searched, but can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.

My goal is to develop a simple app to collect GPS coordinates and periodically send them off over USB to a PC.  Here is the relevant code I am using:

StreamConnection serial = (StreamConnection)Connector.open("comm:USB;baudrate=19200;channel=USB1");
DataOutputStream os = serial.openDataOutputStream();
String outline = "Hello World!\n\r";
os.writeChars(outline);

I opened up the Desktop Manager and connected to each of the COM ports called RIM Virtual Serial Port v2 with putty.  Neither of these displays anything when I run my program.

I feel like the code is so straight forward that it can't be too wrong, but I am far less confident on the process for actually opening a serial connection from the PC.  Do I need to have the Desktop Manager running? Do I need to do anything to attach the virtual COM ports to a physical COM port? Any other things I'm doing wrong?

Thanks for the help and patience.

-Justin

Developer
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: USB Serial Port Communication

welcome to the support forums.

i would suggest you take a look at the usb demo shipping with the jde/ejde.

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Highlighted
New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified