Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Contributor
My Device: 9000, 9700
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: UTF8 encoding and SQLite database problems

Hi all, 

since I am new to Blackberry development, I ran into some problems concerning my database as well. I am developing an app in 4 different languages. I tried to solve my encoding problem (which is excactly the same as Patchou noted before) by his approach with inserting a single character into the databse and checking how it will be returned by the database or Row.getString().

This worked quite well on my Bold 9000, but on the Bold 9700 it didn't. I insert a "ß" and it is returned these two "garbage" characters in BOTH devices. But on the 9700 it just shows question marks instead of special characters, "umlaut", arabic oder japanese characters.

I am not really an expert at encoding/decoding...hopefully someone can help me here or give me new input, since I am really desperate to know what the problem is here and how i can fix it.

Thanks

PS: 9000 (5.0.0.411), 9700 (5.0.0.862)

Developer
My Device: Not Specified

I have reviewed Patchou's workaround, and to be honest, thought it was potentially 'flaky'.  The issue is, for databases that do not supply UTF-8 Strings, the text has been converted to characters using ISO-8859-1.  Taking this text and doing this:

byte[] aChars = sText.getBytes("ISO-8859-1");

does not, for me, guarantee that you will get the same byte array as was originally supplied.

The approach that I am using

(see http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/UTF8-encoding-and-SQLite-database-problems/m...

does guarantee that you will get the correct data.  The issue is this approach is it is a significant overhead on devices where it is not needed.