Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-04-2010
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Using BIS-B Outside the BlackBerry Alliance Program

Hello,

 

I would like to ask whether it's legal to use the BIS-B connection parameters outside the BlackBerry Alliance program. If I somehow became aware of the parameter required, but I am not a member of the alliance program, could I use it? Would that be legal?

 

 

Thank you.

Developer
Posts: 17,012
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Using BIS-B Outside the BlackBerry Alliance Program

do you really need to ask this question?

other people pay a fee for it, that's all you have to know.

 

besides, this is a user-to-user forum, i really doubt somebody could get you legal advice about rim policies.

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Using BIS-B Outside the BlackBerry Alliance Program

FYI, whenever I have asked for BIS-B, I have provided volume information and a target URL, so RIM knows where requests will be directed and how much data will flow. 

New Developer
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-04-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Using BIS-B Outside the BlackBerry Alliance Program

@simon_hain: I just found it in an open-source project. I meant no offence!

Developer
Posts: 17,012
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Using BIS-B Outside the BlackBerry Alliance Program

i know developers use it. but that does not mean that it is legal.

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Contributor
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎06-27-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Using BIS-B Outside the BlackBerry Alliance Program

So this is left to the developer?  I saw all the stuff about BIS-B being reserved for alliance traffic (at a premium cost).  This is not limited by the server?  It is upto the developer to block this trasport from his app?

Developer
Posts: 17,012
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Using BIS-B Outside the BlackBerry Alliance Program

the transport is only used if the developer decides to do this. as of today there seems to be no limitation server-side, only the "secret" connection suffix.

 

if RIM goes after anybody using the service without permission: who knows?

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Using BIS-B Outside the BlackBerry Alliance Program

"if RIM goes after anybody using the service without permission: who knows?"

 

And the point of my post above is that RIM can track the traffic on their infrastructure and can determine who has and who has not asked permission.

 

In addition, as I understand it (and this is not my area) it is against the terms of the Alliance Agreement to publish the code, so whoever has made this available, has broken their agreement.