Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Trusted Contributor
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: Digicel
Accepted Solution

Vectors, and Vectors and Storage

Hi, I am new to the idea of Persistent Storage. But I have managed to simply store a String...that's all

I am going to try implement Vectors with persistent storage.

I do however want the following questions answered.

1. Can a Vector store other things besides elementary data types? For example can a vector store Editfields or LabelFields along with there contents?
  2. A Vector stores objects; so does that mean that I can create a custom object, and then make a vector out of more than one of my custom object? How do you make a custom object? 
  3. What is casting? What is its purpose?

You would be meaningless.
Developer
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Vectors, and Vectors and Storage

1. Yes, but if you want to persist a vector, all the Objects contained in the Vector must be Persistable.  EditField and LabelField are not, so you can't persist these.

2. Yes you can create a Custom Object.  You do it every time you extend another Object.  This is standard Java. 

3. Casting the process of making on Object look like another one.

With the exception of (1), these questions are not BlackBerry questions, they are java questions.  I suggest you search else where for information on these java constructs.  There are some great tutorials around and of course you could always buy a Java book. 

Trusted Contributor

Thanks for the response.
And...

Relating to question 1, I would like to ask the following questions.

1. If I have a class that implements Persistable, and it contains a Vector with custom objects. Do I still need to make the objects in the Vector persistable?