Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-05-2011
My Device: Bold 9800
My Carrier: Movistar

Re: Virtual KeyBoard Show previous Screen

I have the same problem

I did not find us a solution, I hope I can help

Thanks

Developer
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎04-24-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Virtual KeyBoard Show previous Screen

I am afraid I have bad news.  This is an operating system problem relating to memeroy management,  No fix or work around.

 

RIM claims it is fixed in newer OS releases.  I haven't verified that.

Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎06-08-2010
My Device: iPhone 4 - Sorry RIM
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Virtual KeyBoard Show previous Screen With Input in a BrowserField2

[ Edited ]

I discovered this same bug clear back when the Torch 9800 was only available as a simulator and never found a solution.  In fact, if I recall it is not just the virtual keyboard that causes the issue, but also other BrowserField2s inside PopupScreens were causing it for me.  I have not been able to reproduce the bug in OS 5 or 7 simulators (thank goodness!)

 

I even tried pushing a new MainScreen onto the stack to do all my text inputs on, but showing the virtual keyboard here still causes corruption on the screen below.

 

So my "solution" if you can call it that is to flat-out disable the virtual keyboard on all my screens and dialogs when the OS major version is 6 and the device has a physical keyboard.  FYI this is how you can disable the virtual keyboard:

 

vkb.setVisibility(VirtualKeyboard.HIDE_FORCE);

 

I do this in the screen's constructor and in the onUiEngineAttached and/or onExposed methods too for good measure.  Anyone who has tried to deal with the virtual keyboard in the constructor probably will agree it doesn't usually work.

Developer
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎04-24-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Virtual KeyBoard Show previous Screen With Input in a BrowserField2

Thanks for the idea. I appreciate it. The only problem I can foresee is the new torches with no keyboard.
Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎06-08-2010
My Device: iPhone 4 - Sorry RIM
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Virtual KeyBoard Show previous Screen With Input in a BrowserField2

[ Edited ]

Those start at OS 7, don't they?  As far as I know, the bug isn't in OS 7 Smiley Happy

 

 

Edit:  Thats what my simulator indicated anyhow on the no-keyboard torch.

Developer
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎04-24-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Virtual KeyBoard Show previous Screen With Input in a BrowserField2

Duhh! Sorry I just woke up.

Thanks!
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-12-2012
My Device: Multiple
My Carrier: Multiple

Re: Virtual KeyBoard Show previous Screen

Facing same issue, really ugly.

@JamesColeman: Any updates on the issue tracker? Can I have the link to the issue Id?

Developer
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎04-24-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Virtual KeyBoard Show previous Screen

I apologize.  I have had to move on to other platformsand it appears that my login for the issue tracker is no longer working.  I spent I fair amount of time trying to login and I couldn't figure out a way to get in.

 

I never reveived any emails about issue tracker updates.

 

If you cant find it on the issue tracker start a new issue. Try Virtual keyboard and perhaps memory for key words when searching.

 

You can also contact developer support.  They never charged me for issue related to bugs.

 

I wish you luck.

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-12-2012
My Device: Multiple
My Carrier: Multiple

Re: Virtual KeyBoard Show previous Screen

Thanks for your reply and wish.. I ll try my luck.. Lets see..