Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎12-17-2008
My Device: 8320

WebCam connected with simulator camera

Hi All,

 

I am using 4.6.0 simulator for testing. I have to use camera application in my project.

 

Currently i dont have real device with me. so i want to test my application

 

using simulator. so how can i connect this simulator to webcam.

 

Give some idea .

 

Thanks,

 

 

 

 

kums

******************************

Press kudos which the post help you
Please mark posts as solved if you got a solution
Developer
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎11-16-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: WebCam connected with simulator camera

Hi

If you installed your webcam properly then you can use it without any problem as far as i know. I have integrated webcam and it worked without any configuration.

Install your webcam drivers, connect the webcam, check out if in the Windows OS working properly and after i think you can use without any problem in the simulator too.

Blame me if i have wrong..

Developer
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎12-17-2008
My Device: 8320

Re: WebCam connected with simulator camera

Hi,

 

Thanks for your reply. 

 

I done all installation in windows.  Web cam is working fine.

 

I followed steps like below,

 

1. Started web camera. Its running and ready to take picture.

 

2. Now started blackberry simulator, and enter into camera.

 

But its not take web camera view. its show me only image what i set in

 

previous from my pc.

 

What i did wrong? Help me?

 

Thanks,

 

 

 

 

 

 

kums

******************************

Press kudos which the post help you
Please mark posts as solved if you got a solution
Developer
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎12-17-2008
My Device: 8320

Re: WebCam connected with simulator camera

Still facing same problem.

 

Helps are welcome.

kums

******************************

Press kudos which the post help you
Please mark posts as solved if you got a solution
Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: WebCam connected with simulator camera

I'm confused as to what you are trying to do.

 

If you expect to be able to use your Webcam like a simulated BlackBerry camera, that is not supported as far as I know. 

Developer
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎12-17-2008
My Device: 8320

Re: WebCam connected with simulator camera

Thanks peter.

 

But am using built in camera in my application. Here i have to take snaps for every seconds.

 

I dont have real device. For that i want to use Webcam like a simulated BlackBerry camera.

 

Else How can i test it.

 

Thanks,

kums

******************************

Press kudos which the post help you
Please mark posts as solved if you got a solution
Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: WebCam connected with simulator camera

[ Edited ]

As far as I know, the only thing you can do is tell give the Simulator an image that it will use for the camera.  See the "Simulate" menu option on the SImulator.

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 1,807
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.3.2.858, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.2576, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.2582, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.1.2576, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: WebCam connected with simulator camera

At least for the 5.0 simulators it works, I have been able to do it using the CameraDemo app. SImply plug it in and it works for me.

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Developer
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎11-16-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: WebCam connected with simulator camera

Hi

"1. Started web camera. Its running and ready to take picture."

Maybe you can try without this step, the program what you use for viewing the webcamera picture will use the camera source and then the simulator can`t access it.

I don`t try to use the camera within an application but i made some pictures with the emulator inbuild photo application.

Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: WebCam connected with simulator camera

I stand corrected.  I will have to have a play sometime with OS 5.0 Simulators and my web cam!

 

Sorry I can't help.