Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Developer
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: Rogers

XML/mySQL/PHP--Searching/Retrieving Data

Hi,

I'm a bit new to BlackBerry application development, but not new to computer programming, generally speaking.

I am working on a BlackBerry application.  The application needs to be able to perform a search on a mySQL database that is hosted on my webserver.  The user will be able to enter a search string into an EditField (check) on their BB, and upon hitting the "search" button, the application will search the webserver mysql database for search results and then display the search results on the BlackBerry.

I have researched a few methods for achieving this: 1) embedding a webbrowser field in the application and then loading the contents of the webpage onto the application, and 2) XML parsing (XML parsing is a topic that I am currently investigating and it is one that is foreign to me).

I'm a bit lost here--I'm not quite sure what to do.  Could anyone out there give me a few tips?  I completed the UI, I tested the embedded browser (which works "okay"), but I'd like to investigate the XML parsing functionality to see what it has to offer.

My questions are:

1.  Can I use XML to retrieve data stored on a SQL Database?

2.  Can I display XML documents on a BB?
3.  Can I use the BB to interact with XML and mySQL?

If the answer is yes to any of the above questions, then my next question is how?  Or, could you provide me with a few useful links?

Thanks!!!

Developer
My Device: Not Specified

Re: XML/mySQL/PHP--Searching/Retrieving Data

Before giving answer of your questions can you explain what do you mean by "display XML documents on a BB".

Developer

Sure thing!