Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
My Device: Not Specified

;deviceside=true

Hi friends,

 

i used http connection to get images from server. server returns me the byte array of image then i convert it to encodedImage.

to access TCP directly i append ;deviceside=true to url and then make http connection.

 

i have to brings lots of images from server and render it on device i.e. screen. 

 

but problem is that when i hit to many times to server one by one. the the application get hangs.

but i remove the parameter deviceside=true then it wll work fine.

 

can any one help me.

whr i did the mistake.

 

thanks

Ashish.  

Developer
Posts: 1,415
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: ;deviceside=true

Eh, I think its time to ask for a tracert utility for BB. LOL.

Does the RIM java support ICMP or packet capture?

 

This seems to come up every few days, search the archives and find what exceptions are being thrown.

Suspects include RIM and the carrier once you are pretty sure the app is not to blame.

Are you using a carrier approved app when you try to use the phone you bought and the public

airwaves? Shame on you if not. ( sorry, this always gets political quickly).

 

Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: ;deviceside=true

As the previous responder suggested, look round the forum for other similar threads, for example this one:

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/rim/board/message?board.id=java_dev&thread.id=5932

 

I think if you take the time to understand what these parameters actually mean, you will be able to debug your problem better. 

 

Remember also from a simulator, to run deviceside=false you must have the MDS simulator going - but you can run deviceside=true anytime.

 

There is a BES connection data size limit (that I think defaults to 128K) that might be related to the problem you see.  Are you getting all your images in one http response, or do you ask for separate images? Asking for separate images is definitely preferable even without this size limit, because then you only loose one image should the connection fail, for example if a voice call breaks the data connection.

New Developer
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: ;deviceside=true

hi,

 

i know better about this parameters,

 

i used simulator to test my App.

 

and append deviceside=true.

 

and no exception is there test well.

 

i istablish one connection for one image and image size is less than 10 kb.

sorry marchywka , but i did not understand ur reply.

 

 

 

Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: ;deviceside=true

To summarize then:

a) On a simulator it works correctly with deviceside

b) On a device with deviceside=false it also works correctly

c) On a device with deviceside=true, it obtains some of the images, and then hangs.

d) You only get one image at a time, each image is less than 10K

e) you are just doing an http GET

 

This is an unusual problem.  To help, I think we need to know the following:

 

1) JDE level

2) Device model and level

3) If possible, the complete URL you are connecting to, including the connection suffix you are adding

4) If possible, a snippet of code showing how you do the connection

5) The carriers you have tested this with

6) The exception that you see as a result of the hang.

 

Developer
Posts: 1,415
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: ;deviceside=true

AFAIK, each time this has come up recently it seems to be something like a DNS error or other thing

implicating the carrier. What exception(s) do you see? I think at some point I was seeing getResponse()

throw too, after getting a connection.

Carrier's aren't always clear about protecting their own apps or keeping bandwidth down on their networks

( it isn't their fault if your app doesn't work reliably ). I hate to sound like that but experience suggests it

is, or at least used to be, a part of the problem.

 

Also, you may want to consider getting more detailed tools. I was posting on another thread re TCP packet

capture. This may be a bit extreme but some network tools may be helpful. Diagnostics on BB are limited

if you can get additional info from the server it may help.