Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Developer
Posts: 499
Registered: ‎06-24-2008
My Device: Not Specified

eclipse debugging performance

Anyone have problems debugging in eclipse?

 

I'm using 3.5.2 with the latest release of the BlackBerry eclipse plug-in.

 

Whenever I try to debug performance is awful. I've tried cleaning the simulator etc, but with limited success.

 

The same code running in the JDE zips along during debugging.

 

It's now quicker for me to develop in eclipse (I'm more comfortable with editing), and then copy the code into the JDE to debug.

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-30-2010
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: 3

Re: eclipse debugging performance

Do you mean that debugging using BB eclipse plugin 1.1 was very slow ?

 

I tried to use eclipse plugin 1.1 but have never succeed.

 

I stay with BB eclipse plugin 1.0.0, although I have to restart the simulator everytime I want to debug it.

 

BTW, the simulator startup time is depend on the kind of simulator that you uses. On 8330 is faster than 8520 or 9000.

 

 

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 499
Registered: ‎06-24-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: eclipse debugging performance

Stepping through code line by line has become impossible using the eclipse plugin.

 

I can run from breakpoint to breakpoint successfully though the performance is still poor.

 

It seems to be since the last plugin update.

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,885
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: eclipse debugging performance

Our development team is aware of this issue, but it hasn't been addressed yet in a released version of the BlackBerry Java Plug-in for Eclipse.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Developer
Posts: 516
Registered: ‎07-23-2010
My Device: 9900

Re: eclipse debugging performance

I am also having a very hard time debugging my code using the Eclipse BlackBerry plug-in.

It is at a point where I have to wait about 2 minutes for it to move to the next line.

Also I am getting an out of memory crash when I am debugging.

Hope RIM releases a fix soon Smiley Indifferent

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-14-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: eclipse debugging performance

Hello Mark!

 

It's still a piece of **bleep**. Do you have an ETA when the line by line debugging will be usable?

 

Peter

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎01-19-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: eclipse debugging performance

Hi Peter and BB-Dude.  We understand that this is frustrating.  Can I ask you to check what your -Xmx setting in your eclipse.ini file is set to?  If it is less, can you try setting it to 768 and see if that helps?

 

Thanks!

Ken Wallis - Senior Product Manager, WebWorks and Android Runtime
@ken_wallis
Developer
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎10-19-2010
My Device: Blackberry 8110
My Carrier: Generic

Re: eclipse debugging performance

That's the solution to the slow debugging problem.

 

It works like a charm now. Just modified the eclipse.ini and now I can debug very quickly.

 

Thank you very much indeed for this forum it saves me a lot of time.

Regards