Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

how to check application in different simulator?

hi all

 

i have devevlop one application.i want ,it should work fine in all bb devices.for that what i should do?

 

regards?

Developer
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: Vodafone India

Re: how to check application in different simulator?

Download different   JDE  versions ftrom Blackberry site ... 

 

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/developers/javaappdev/javadevenv.jsp

You need to register first.

 

 

JDE 4.5 (for 8100, 8300, 8800 etc series) -- along with this you will get these simulators.

JDE  4.6 (for Bold, Javelin, Pearl Flip) you need to download Javelin and PearlFlip simulators seperately.

JDE 4.7 (for Storm, Tour) you need to download Tour simulator seperately.

 

Build your application in these JDE's seperately and run using simulators.

 

If it works then fine (But note all functionality will not works in simulators.) It will just give you an idea that How it works.

 

 

Thnx.

 

Developer
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: how to check application in different simulator?

hi

 

can we install more than one JDE in same system?

 

 

savi

 

 

Developer
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎07-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: how to check application in different simulator?

yes you can install more than one JDE on your system.

--------------------------------------------------
problemSolved() ? kudosPlease():kudosPlease();
Developer
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: how to check application in different simulator?

hi

 

but we have to set classpath of javaloader and rapc .then whose jde ,we have to set classpath?

 

savi

Developer
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎01-22-2010
My Device: BOLD 9700
My Carrier: Globe

Re: how to check application in different simulator?

[ Edited ]

No need to set anything in the classpath.

 

If you're using windows, just go to start->programs->Research in motion->look for the jde/simulator you would use

 

if you would just want to test your app on Various OS then download the different JDE:

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/developers/resources/simulators.jsp

 

but if you want to test your app on various devices (to see how it would look like on different screens), then download various smartphone simulators, still at the same site above. To load the application into the simulator, open the smartphone simulator->click file->load java program->look for .cod of application.

 

 

 

Developer
Posts: 16,992
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: how to check application in different simulator?

each jde also contains different simulators, you can change the one you are using on the preferences.

 

you can also launch any independent simulator and select "connect to simulator" on the jde to attach the debugger.

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 587
Registered: ‎01-19-2010
My Device: BOLD 9700 OS5.0.0.x on Rogers Canada
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: how to check application in different simulator?

As long as you install the simulator to C:\Program Files\Research in Motion, they will automatically appear in the JDE.

 

Eclipse: In the toolbar, you'll see hte debug icon. Click the arrow next to it and select Debug Configuration... Click Simulator and choose the Device you want from the Drop-down menu.

 

Note: Non-default Debug settings do not persist in Eclipse. The Sim of your choice will, but setting specific debug options, such as /clear-nvram, will be reset when the session ends.

 

BlackBerry JDE: Edit -> Preferences -> Simulator. Select the desired Simulator from the drop-down menu.

 

Hope that helps,

~Dom

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
chown -R us ./base
~J!NX
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: how to check application in different simulator?

hi chengbang

 

thank you Smiley Happy

 

 

savi