Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 468
Registered: ‎08-07-2009
My Device: Curve, Bold, Storm
My Carrier: Blackberry Developer

menu element unfocusable and speerator is invisible

Hi all,

I am making a menu. In which i want some of the menu elements to be unfocused. So that user is not able to select it.

I am also adding seperator in my menu. Sometimes it works properly but sometimes it doesn't. It happens only on some of the fields. i.e. the seperator gets invisibe.

Plz help.

Thanks
Ekansh

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the kudos button on the left side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
Developer
Posts: 16,992
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: menu element unfocusable and speerator is invisible

menuitems are always focusable. you can write your own menu to achieve this behavior, for example by using popupscreen and listfield

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: menu element unfocusable and speerator is invisible

Re menu separators sometimes being invisible, try this article for an explanation.

 

http://www.thinkingblackberry.com/archives/84

Developer
Posts: 468
Registered: ‎08-07-2009
My Device: Curve, Bold, Storm
My Carrier: Blackberry Developer

Re: menu element unfocusable and speerator is invisible

Hi,

 

Thank you for replying. Simon and Peter.

 

Actually i want menu in my application like this.

 

   Menu

-----------

Option1

Option2

Option3

 

And Menu should not be focusable or selectable.

 

and Peter the link you provided is not working. i.e. its not opening.

 

 

Thanks

ekansh

 

 

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the kudos button on the left side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: menu element unfocusable and separator is invisible

I'm with Simon, I don't think you can make the 'Menu' not focusable.

 

But the link I supplied should help you with the separator.  If it is not opening, try this:

 

http://www.thinkingblackberry.com/archives/category/basics

 

If this doesn't work, then just look round www.thinkingblackberry.com - there are other interesting articles and I'm sure you will eventually find the menu ones. 

Developer
Posts: 468
Registered: ‎08-07-2009
My Device: Curve, Bold, Storm
My Carrier: Blackberry Developer

Re: menu element unfocusable and separator is invisible

Hi, I am not able to get anything about my menu problem. Please help me. Thanks and Regards Ekansh
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the kudos button on the left side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
Developer
Posts: 16,992
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: menu element unfocusable and separator is invisible

i would suggest that you read this article: http://www.slashdev.ca/2008/05/07/menuitem-demystified/
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 468
Registered: ‎08-07-2009
My Device: Curve, Bold, Storm
My Carrier: Blackberry Developer

Re: menu element unfocusable and separator is invisible

HI,

 

Thanks for the link. It helped me to understand the Menu perfectly.

But i still didn't found anyway to unfocus any field of the menu.

 

Thanks and Regards

Ekansh

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the kudos button on the left side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 16,992
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: menu element unfocusable and separator is invisible

there is no way to do that
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter