Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Contributor
My Device: BlackBerry 8800
My Carrier: Development

need help for making popup screen to cover entire display..

Hi,

I am a total newbie to Blackberry development.  I need to create a static processing message screen big enough to cover the entire display.

My attempts :

•     I created a class that extends PopupScreen and i over rode the sublayout method with setposition(0,0) and setExtent(Display.getWidth(), Display.getHeight()). 

The issue with this is..  the screen so created doesn't fit in properly.  PopupScreens have a border and shading which starts from 0,0 and the right & bottom border are not displayed as it spans more then the display width.

• Next over rode the sublayout method for the delegate manager.

But then I couldn't position my label field in the center of the screen. Also, It appeared fine on small screen display (8800 simulator) but in bigger screens it left almost 30Px width on right and bottom side and did not cover the screen.

• Tried LabelField.HCENTER ,LabelField.VCENTER , LabelField.USE_ALL_WIDTH , LabelField.USE_ALL_HEIGHT

This constants also could not make the screen cover entire display.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Developer
Developer
My Device: 8130 / 8350 / 9530 / 9550 / 9850 / PlayBook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: need help for making popup screen to cover entire display..

Use a FullScreen object and make your own PopupScreen.

New Contributor

But  will the FullScreen object  be deployed using pushModalScreen function? I am using this function to suspend my main thread and allow processing in other. Hence I chose the popupscreen class.