Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Contributor
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8900
My Carrier: T-Mobile

"WIFI Portal Application for Blackberry Help Getting Started!!

I came across the xbmc as a really interesting platform for development. I am a Bsc Computer Science student at Kingston University.
I am currently on an industrial placement at the moment working for a charity called Media Trust. I am working as an IT Support Assistant. I will be starting my final year at university in September.
As part of my final year I have to do a dissertation which forms a double module project.

I have thought about an idea of developing an application for a blackberry. This application should act as a portal with File Transfer Protocol capability allowing users to view content such as music, pictures, documents, videos. It should also allow them to upload and download content from the blackberry. Users should be able to stream content remotely on their blackberry without losing connection to the stream. They should be able to add and remove folders, music, videos, documents, pictures as well. This should be a simple GUI interface where the blackberry application links to a remote location for this data e.g a website server or program like the xbmc on windows desktop.

Each user should have their own login and password for the application service. There could possibly be a security breach so this may need some work.
It should be designed to work with 3G, GPRS, GPS, WAP and possibly 4G as well which is not out there at the moment.