Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎01-18-2012
My Device: 9360
My Carrier: AIRTEL
Accepted Solution

setEmptyString doesn't work for me

I am using setEmptyString on ListField and doesn't show the string when the list is empty. 

 

any clues ? using 9900 simulator 

 

thx

Srinivas

Retired
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎10-11-2011
My Device: BlackBerry 9810
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: setEmptyString doesn't work for me

Hi Srinivas

 

Thanks for the post.  Will you be able to provide us with more info?  Will you be able to provide with some sample code so that I know what you are trying to do and I can reproduce the issue internally.

 

Thanks

 

Naveen M

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎01-18-2012
My Device: 9360
My Carrier: AIRTEL

Re: setEmptyString doesn't work for me

I was actually overriding paint method and not calling super.paint so I was not able to get it working.

 

any custom list example where I can do this on my own ? 

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎01-18-2012
My Device: 9360
My Carrier: AIRTEL

Re: setEmptyString doesn't work for me

I want to add an item "Add Task:" and also display "No Records"* to the list field. how do I achieve this ?

 

Developer
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎03-15-2011
My Device: blackberry smart phone
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: setEmptyString doesn't work for me

YOU want to ADD TASK in the listField or you can do it like this. Take a Manager add the label into that Manager and after that. In the ListField setEmptyString() with no records if the listField is empty it will show that otherwise your row will be displayed.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎01-18-2012
My Device: 9360
My Carrier: AIRTEL

Re: setEmptyString doesn't work for me

my problem is I want "Add Task:" to be selectable as list field 

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎01-18-2012
My Device: 9360
My Carrier: AIRTEL

Re: setEmptyString doesn't work for me

want to mimic same functionality as Tasks Application

Developer
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎03-15-2011
My Device: blackberry smart phone
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: setEmptyString doesn't work for me

Can you describe your question more clearly. What you want to achieve?????
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎01-18-2012
My Device: 9360
My Carrier: AIRTEL

Re: setEmptyString doesn't work for me

I want to have tasks populated into list on my screen.

 

Add New Task

   -Task1

   -Task2

  -Task3

 

on empty list, i want to show this 

 

Add New Task

               * No Tasks *

 

Add New Task sholuld be selectable like list rows, Task1,Task2, Task3, I don't want to make it as label

Developer
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎03-15-2011
My Device: blackberry smart phone
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: setEmptyString doesn't work for me

I think make a clickable Manager add labelField in that manager. On clicking that manager grow your list field.