Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Developer
My Device: Simulator

sqlite support?

Has anyone looked into getting sqlite onto the BlackBerry platform?  I am no database expert (so I don't know about its merit), but I see a few open source projects are already adopting it (Mozilla for one and two other "open" mobile platform Android and Symbian.)

Just for those who are not familar with sqlite, it is "a in-process library that implements a self-contained, serverless, zero-configuration, transactional SQL database engine"  (whatever that means.)  And the entire source code is in public domain (so not anything like GNU or Apache licence) available in C, so I don't really see a reason not to adopt it to make cross platform developers' life easier (as least for simple applications). http://www.sqlite.org/about.html

And yes, I am aware of existing solution providers for database (as mentioned here http://supportforums.blackberry.com/rim/board/message?board.id=java_dev&message.id=1268&query.id=56038 ).  I guess they might not be too happy if there's a free build in db in blackberry?

New Developer
My Device: Not Specified

Re: sqlite support?

In my experience SQLite (I have used it a lot in C++ projects) is really great for small, local databases except when needing concurrent access from multiple threads or processes, it has some major problems in that department. I think getting this to work on Blackberry devices, though, would mean porting it from C to J2ME which, from looking at the SQLite source, would probably not be a fun task.
Developer

katrinaniolet wrote:
...would mean porting it from C to J2ME which, from looking at the SQLite source, would probably not be a fun task.