Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎10-22-2009
My Device: Blackberry Torch
Accepted Solution

storm2 keyChar not capturing alphabets

Hi all,

I am using JDE 4.7 and having storm2 device.

I added a basic BasicEditField and ovrride keyChar inside it.

A weird behavior is occuring on both full and reduce keyboard,

keyChar is capturing ENTER ("\n"), BACKSPACE, and PERIOD( ".") but its failing to capture any alphabet press.

Behavior is occuring on both device and simulator.

 

Can anybody tell me why or if there is a workaround for this?

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark posts as solved if you found a solution. Press the kudos button to thank the user who helped you.
New Developer
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-19-2010
My Device: RIM Storm
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: storm2 keyChar not capturing alphabets

[ Edited ]

Try using JDE 5.0 for Storm2

 


-Divya
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Don't forget to mark your post as solved if you get the answer and also dont forget to give kudos by clicking star

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Developer
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎10-22-2009
My Device: Blackberry Torch

Re: storm2 keyChar not capturing alphabets

JDE 5.0 is still in beta, so we cant deploy it unless its stable.

I think problem is in suretype mode and when i disable it then enable full keyboard then i am able to send one key at a time.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark posts as solved if you found a solution. Press the kudos button to thank the user who helped you.
Developer
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎10-22-2009
My Device: Blackberry Torch

Re: storm2 keyChar not capturing alphabets

even in fullkeyboard view i am not able to capture alphabets

i can capture numbers period dotspace but not alphabets.

can anybody help me to figure out?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark posts as solved if you found a solution. Press the kudos button to thank the user who helped you.
Developer
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎10-22-2009
My Device: Blackberry Torch

Re: storm2 keyChar not capturing alphabets

keyDown is capturing it !! eeeeeeeeeehhhhhhhhhoooooooooooo !

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark posts as solved if you found a solution. Press the kudos button to thank the user who helped you.
Developer
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎04-27-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: storm2 keyChar not capturing alphabets

I don't think so you can get all the Keychars in storm2 becuse it is a touch device.

Developer
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎10-22-2009
My Device: Blackberry Torch

Re: storm2 keyChar not capturing alphabets

Problem is now on real device storm2 only, i am able to capture the characters in 9550 storm2 simulator through keyChar

but not on device.

Here is the sample code which i wrote to test this:

 

public class TouchInputScreen extends MainScreen {
	
	private BasicEditField inputField;
	private String logMessage;
	
	
	public TouchInputScreen() {
		setTitle("TouchInputScreen");
		logMessage = "";
		inputField = new BasicEditField(TextField.NO_COMPLEX_INPUT) {
			
			protected boolean keyChar(char key, int status, int time) {
				boolean ret = super.keyChar(key, status, time);
				logMessage +=key+" ";//+getText();
				
				return ret;
			}
			
			protected boolean keyDown(int keycode, int time) {
				int key = Keypad.key(keycode);
				logMessage +=key+" ";
				return super.keyDown(keycode, time);
			}
			
		};
		add(inputField);
		addMenuItem(_displayLog);
	}
	
	private MenuItem _displayLog = new MenuItem("Display log", 3,0) {

		public void run() {
			Dialog.alert(logMessage);
		}
    };
}

 It behave differently on both device on simulator.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark posts as solved if you found a solution. Press the kudos button to thank the user who helped you.
Developer
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎10-22-2009
My Device: Blackberry Torch

Re: storm2 keyChar not capturing alphabets

I mean characters are getting captured on simulator but not on storm2 device

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark posts as solved if you found a solution. Press the kudos button to thank the user who helped you.
Developer
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: storm2 keyChar not capturing alphabets

mohisharma, in the intrest of making sure the left and the right hand know what is going on here chould you please post this to JIRA as well with some sample code?

 

i'm also running into this issue it seems like a serious pain, and i would like to be sure they are aware with what is up.

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎10-22-2009
My Device: Blackberry Torch

Re: storm2 keyChar not capturing alphabets

after upgrading the device modules and simulator, i dont have this issue.

RIM guys is this the expected behavior?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark posts as solved if you found a solution. Press the kudos button to thank the user who helped you.