Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎03-09-2010
My Device: 8900
My Carrier: developer

want to get the home screen api called

hi

 

IS there any way of call the home screen api in my application .?

 

 

regards

AMrinder singh

Developer
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎01-02-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: want to get the home screen api called

You can use HomeScreen class to access the home screen.

---------------------
Best Regards,
Kannabiran.
---------------------
Don't forget to mark your post as solved if you got answer. And give kudos.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎03-09-2010
My Device: 8900
My Carrier: developer

Re: want to get the home screen api called

hi

 

is it not possible to call the home screen to my application .?

 

after calling the home screen ,i want to do some operation on it .

 

we can call the blackberry contact list api ,as same i want to call the home screen api

 

would you suggest me how to do that ?

 

any help would be learnable for me .

 

regards

Amrinder singh

Developer
Posts: 468
Registered: ‎08-07-2009
My Device: Curve, Bold, Storm
My Carrier: Blackberry Developer

Re: want to get the home screen api called

Hi,

 

You want to use methods of the homescreen class???

 

 

You should import  net.rim.blackberry.api.homescreen.HomeScreen

 

in your code to use its methods.

 

Thanks

Ekansh

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the kudos button on the left side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: want to get the home screen api called

I presume by some operation, you mean the same as you asked in another Thread, which is invoke an application by selecting its icon.  The HomeScreen API will not help you with this.  In fact, there is no way to determine what icons are displayed and select one. Sorry.

 

If that is not what you wanted, can you tell us what you would like to do with the Home Screen. 

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎03-09-2010
My Device: 8900
My Carrier: developer

Re: want to get the home screen api called

hi peter sir

 

i want to know Can i capture key events if my application is running in background.

 

My main aim for this application  is that with the help of keys ,i use the function of trackball for moving right ,left ,up and down on  blackberry device or on whole bb phone .

 

 

regards

Amrinder singh

Developer
Posts: 468
Registered: ‎08-07-2009
My Device: Curve, Bold, Storm
My Carrier: Blackberry Developer

Re: want to get the home screen api called

I think you can do that.

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the kudos button on the left side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
Developer
Posts: 571
Registered: ‎04-11-2009
My Device: BB 10 Dev Alpha

Re: want to get the home screen api called

Hi Amrinder,

 

No u can't capture Key Events from a background application... Any application which wants to capture these events must be in foreground at that time.

 

If yours is abackgroound application, you can push a transparent Global Modal Screen, which will capture key events for u..

 

Thanks,

Kanak

 

Regards,
Kanak Sony
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://dodevelopnshare.wordpress.com/ | http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=188131481&trk=tab_pro
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎03-09-2010
My Device: 8900
My Carrier: developer

Re: want to get the home screen api called

hi

 

Thanks  for the suggestion and taking initiative .

 

but i try to search on the internet , icant get the information about this transparent Global Modal Screen .

 

Would you please tell me how to implement these things .?

 

regards

Amrinder singh

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎03-09-2010
My Device: 8900
My Carrier: developer

Re: want to get the home screen api called

hi

 

please help

 

 

any alternative of overcomming this problem ?

 

 

regards

Amrinder singh