Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-24-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Verizon

Can't launch app in simulator?

Hello,

 

I can't seem to get the simulator to launch my app. I'm developing on a Mac. It keeps saying "Program file does not exist"

 

I've tried cleaning, rebuilding, deleting arm folder and rebuilding - no go. Anyone have any ideas?

 

Thanks!

 

 

Retired
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
My Device: Z30
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Can't launch app in simulator?

Hi teepis,

 

You have to Cean then build configurations > build all.

I think right now you are just right clicking on the project and selecting build.

 

Please let me know if that solves the problem.

 

-g

Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-24-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Can't launch app in simulator?

Thanks for the suggestion, however even after trying that I still get the same error Smiley Sad

Retired
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
My Device: Z30
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Can't launch app in simulator?

Hi teepis,

 

Okay,by default the IDE only builds for device.

If you want to build for simulator by default switch in project right click -> Build Configurations->Set Active->Simulator-Debug

Then project build *should* work (and you don't need to Build All).

 

Please try that - and let me know ( works / not working).

 

-g

Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-24-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Can't launch app in simulator?

Thanks for that suggestion as well. It's still doing the same thing though. Currently it is set to Simulator-Debug but still not working.

Retired
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
My Device: Z30
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Can't launch app in simulator?

Hmmm.

Okay, I found this link :

 

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Native-Development/Can-t-deploy-apps-to-simulator-quot-Progra...

 

which has some of the advice I gave you.

 

Please read thru it and try the items I haven't suggested.

 

Please let me know if that works/not.

 

-g

Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-24-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Can't launch app in simulator?

Thanks again Gary,

 

I actually did go through that thread this morning and tried all of those to no avail. One thing I noticed is that my simulator doesn't have a debug token. Should it have one?

 

Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-24-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Can't launch app in simulator?

Actually forget my last post. I got a debug token installed on the device which shows as Valid, but the problem still persists.

Retired
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
My Device: Z30
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Can't launch app in simulator?

Hmm - try this :

 

download one of our samples :

 

https://developer.blackberry.com/cascades/sampleapps/

 

say, "cascades cookbook"

 

try and build and run that on the simulator - it should work - no problems.


If it does - that is a good sign.   Please try and let me know what results.

 

-g

Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-24-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Can't launch app in simulator?

Alright, doing that now. I'm not sure if this helps or not, but it seems looking into it further that the error is related to x86. It's having trouble locating the x86 files? 

 

Program file does not exist

/Users/terrence/ndk-10.2.0-workspace/TestProject/x86/o-g/TestProject not found

/Users/terrence/ndk-10.2.0-workspace/TestProject/x86/o-g/TestProject not found

/Users/terrence/ndk-10.2.0-workspace/TestProject/x86/o-g/TestProject not found