Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 181
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: Q5, Q10, Z10, Z30, PlayBook
My Carrier: Carrier

Double click on a list item

Is there a signal (or action) to capture double click (double tap) on a list item in a ListView?

---
If you find my post helpful please "like" it and "accept as a solution"
Developer
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Double click on a list item

double clicks on touch devices are not recommended

 

you should use TAP (== 1 click)

 

long-pressed for context menu is also OK, but you should also provide alternate ways for users not recognizing that long click works

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Developer
Posts: 181
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: Q5, Q10, Z10, Z30, PlayBook
My Carrier: Carrier

Re: Double click on a list item

I use doube tap as a shortcut. Here is simplified scenario:

 

I have a list with high level groups (countries)

 

When you tap an item (country) in the list it changes action menus in the nav bar to correspond to actions applicable to this country.

 

You can long tap to bring action menu, and select "show cities" which switches to another view which displays cities. There are other actions there as well which may be applicable to this country.

 

Hower when you double tap a country item its sort of like a shortcut to go to the list of cities directly. 

 

I have such scenario in my playbook app and it works very vell (users feel its intuitive). 

 

Would like to keep BB10 version consistent with PlayBook. 

---
If you find my post helpful please "like" it and "accept as a solution"
Developer
Posts: 614
Registered: ‎10-17-2010
My Device: (BlackBerry Z10)-> Q10/Passport Dual Use

Re: Double click on a list item

Hello there!

 

You can attach a doubletap gesture handler to each individual list item if you choose. It is basically the same as double click.

 

Here's the qml code

 gestureHandlers: [
     DoubleTapHandler {
         onDoubleTap: {
             // do something here
            }
         }
]

 
If you want to do this in c++, here's that code:

DoubleTapHandler *pDoubleTapHandler = DoubleTapHandler::create()
    .onDoubleTap(pMyObject, SLOT(onDoubleTap(bb::cascades::DoubleTapEvent*)));
 
[replace this with listitem]->addGestureHandler(pDoubleTapHandler);

 

Check out http://cascadescode.tumblr.com I have tons more free code snippets, tutorials and posts on BB10 Cascades development.

Good luck on your app!

 

Developer
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Double click on a list item


Produktyf wrote:

I use doube tap as a shortcut. Here is simplified scenario:

 

I have a list with high level groups (countries)

 

When you tap an item (country) in the list it changes action menus in the nav bar to correspond to actions applicable to this country.

 

You can long tap to bring action menu, and select "show cities" which switches to another view which displays cities. There are other actions there as well which may be applicable to this country.

 

Hower when you double tap a country item its sort of like a shortcut to go to the list of cities directly. 

 

I have such scenario in my playbook app and it works very vell (users feel its intuitive). 

 

Would like to keep BB10 version consistent with PlayBook. 


ok - if it's only a short cut giving the user an additional short way -

then it's ok Smiley Happy

 

it shouldn't be the only way

 

ekke

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Retired
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎05-11-2012
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Developer

Re: Double click on a list item

Did the above answers help you out?

 

Graham