Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎09-18-2013
My Device: Dev Alpha B
My Carrier: BSNL INDIA
Accepted Solution

FM tuner in BB10 devices

Hi, does any BB10 device come with a built in FM antenna or atleast a FM circuit?

Retired
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎09-09-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Etisalat UAE

Re: FM tuner in BB10 devices

Hi SuhairZain,

I believe Z10 comes with Texas Instruments chip WL1273L Wireless Module (802.11a/b/g/n, WLAN, Bluetooth, and FM)

Thanks,
Kareem.
Kareem ELSayed | Application Development Consultant | Developer Relations | BlackBerry | Twitter:@kemobyte
Developer
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎09-18-2013
My Device: Dev Alpha B
My Carrier: BSNL INDIA

Re: FM tuner in BB10 devices

well, it seems there is a fm module on board the handset, but i couldn't find any reference to an api that would let us access it. thanks for the reply man.. Smiley Happy

Developer
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Re: FM tuner in BB10 devices

SuhairZain, you're correct about that, and without an API there's no way to get to the chip, so we're out of luck for now. Nothing to do but wait...

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Developer
Posts: 828
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
My Device: Red Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: FM tuner in BB10 devices

If anyone interested in getting an api for this were to file a feature request it may speed up the process

 

https://www.blackberry.com/jira/secure/Dashboard.jspa

 

something that would definately be useful to have, especially since the hardware for it's already there

Developer
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎09-18-2013
My Device: Dev Alpha B
My Carrier: BSNL INDIA

Re: FM tuner in BB10 devices

well guys, it won't work.. they dismissed the request stating that there's no FM module onboard Z10.