Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 16,992
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany
Accepted Solution

GSoap

There is a KB article about building the gsoap library:

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Cascades-Development-Knowledge/Using-gSoap-in-a-Cascades-C-pr...

However, it only targets linux/mac and is quite short in the description part.

 

Can anybody build the gsoap library for use on bb10 and share the resulting file please?

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎10-22-2012
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Mobifone

Re: GSoap

You can use cygwin to compile in Windows as the same ways in linux. All Windows drive are available in /cygdrive


Like my answer if it's helpful. Mark as answer if it help you solve the problem.
Developer
Posts: 16,992
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: GSoap

I have cygwin installed, it doesn't help much with my small linux knowledge though.
I don't even find the ...sh file mentioned in the KB article.

I wonder why they did not just include the built library Smiley Sad
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎10-22-2012
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Mobifone

Re: GSoap

[ Edited ]

The sh file is located in the root folder of your native sdk. With me, it's located at

D:\bbndk

 it means

/cygdrive/d/bbndk

 in cygwin



Like my answer if it's helpful. Mark as answer if it help you solve the problem.
Developer
Posts: 16,992
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: GSoap

thanks. i can complete step 1/2 in cygwin.
i guess for step 3 i have to switch to the directory of gsoap?

i cannot seem to enter a path there, how would i do that?
if i run the command without the '--prefix' part i get an error about c++ compiler cannot create executables.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎10-22-2012
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Mobifone

Re: GSoap

--prefix mean the folder you will put the output of the compilation.
Before do step 3, change dir to your source code folder

cd /cygdrive/<drive>/path/to/source/folder

 then in step 3

./configure --host=arm-unknown-nto-qnx8.0.0eabi    --prefix =/path/to/folder/you/want/to/store/lib/gsoaplib

 



Like my answer if it's helpful. Mark as answer if it help you solve the problem.
Developer
Posts: 16,992
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: GSoap

/cygdrive/c/users/sha/desktop/gsoap_2.8.14/gsoap-2.8
$ ./configure --host=arm-unknown-nto-qnx8.0.0eabi --prefix =$PWD
configure: error: expected an absolute directory name for --prefix: =/cygdrive/c/users/sha/desktop/gsoap_2.8.14/gsoap-2.8

it does not take the path. how can i change it? maybe you can give me a sample path?
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎10-22-2012
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Mobifone

Re: GSoap

with me, the $PWD work fine. Try to use the path /home/<your cygwin user>/libgsoap


Like my answer if it's helpful. Mark as answer if it help you solve the problem.
Developer
Posts: 16,992
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: GSoap

nope, no luck.

how about you appending the gsoap lib in your post? Smiley Happy
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎10-22-2012
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Mobifone

Re: GSoap

Sorry for the late reply, but I got an error when compiling and when return to the forums (It seems that the forums is blocking Vietnam IP, I don't know the reason). Here is the lib. I don't have any device (DAC can't ship to Vietnam) so you should test it. This is for ARM only https://www.dropbox.com/s/5edsl3xv9hacsp0/libgsoap.rar


Like my answer if it's helpful. Mark as answer if it help you solve the problem.