Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Developer
Posts: 217
Registered: ‎09-18-2009
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: O2
Accepted Solution

Get email address of enterprise account

[ Edited ]

I followed the instructions of this thread.

 

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Native-Development/Retrieve-list-of-email-addresses/m-p/25534...

 

Nevertheless, I cannot get the email address of an enterprise account. For an ActiveSync account it works fine and I get the email address. But for the enterprise account I only get a "Pin to Pin" Provider. And the email_address property of the account only contains the PIN.

 

emailAddress = a.settingsProperty("email_address",Property::Value).toString();
// emailAddress only contains PIN for enterprise account

 

Developer
Posts: 217
Registered: ‎09-18-2009
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: O2

Re: Get email address of enterprise account

I tried this in the personal perimter. But it only works in the work perimeter.

Developer
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎01-02-2011
My Device: Z30, PlayBook
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Get email address of enterprise account

Good to know.

_________________
Meetup for BlackBerry 10
Meetup Search Tool - not available at the moment
Retired
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-22-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Get email address of enterprise account

Correct. In order for an application to access Work Perimeter data it must be installed within the perimeter.

Jonathan Ross
BlackBerry Software Developer
Cascades Field Agency
Developer
Posts: 217
Registered: ‎09-18-2009
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: O2

Re: Get email address of enterprise account

I created an ActiveSync account in the personal perimter. And I cannot get its email address in the work perimeter. Is this intended?

Developer
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎01-02-2011
My Device: Z30, PlayBook
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Get email address of enterprise account

[ Edited ]

If you use the isEnterprise to check the type outside of the Work area, will it always be NonEnterpirse?

 

 

Edit:

Verified tha checking for isEnterprise worked in the Work area.  Used it to possibly speed up some processing.  Not that it was doing many rows, but who knows in the future when it is an actual user device.

_________________
Meetup for BlackBerry 10
Meetup Search Tool - not available at the moment
Retired
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-22-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Get email address of enterprise account

@oliver_kranz: that is intended, the information that you are presented is based on which Perimeter that your application is working in.

 

@LoganSix: That is correct.

 

If you are writing an application that can be ran in either the personal perimeter, or the work perimeter, then I recommend performing the isEnterprise() check as a way to control appropriate business logic for working with the account.

Jonathan Ross
BlackBerry Software Developer
Cascades Field Agency