03-04-2013 12:17 AM
I want to handle deletion of my app. If user tries to delete the app, need to throw a prompt to the user, based on user input will be going further with the deletion OR cancelling it.
Are there any ways I can get the deletion event.?
03-04-2013 03:13 AM
03-04-2013 03:22 AM
You are corect klz, there is no way to do that nor is it likely that there will ever be a way. Just think of the pesky apps that would allow, preventing you from deleting those apps.
03-04-2013 03:34 AM
Basically what I need is to delete all the files associated with the app when the app is deleted.The files are in shred location, since I want to support app upgradation, so I cannot keep the app related files in the app specific folders.
03-04-2013 05:30 AM - edited 03-04-2013 06:28 AM
I think the best you could do is warn your users of this within your app and provide a way to delete those files themselves from your app. While you are doing this you might as well ask for feedback as well for why they are deleting.
03-04-2013 05:36 AM
03-04-2013 06:26 AM - edited 03-04-2013 06:37 AM
03-04-2013 06:59 AM
03-04-2013 07:15 AM - edited 03-04-2013 07:17 AM
Simon, I was puzzled at your response so rereading back, you can read the sentence two ways in his follow-up post, I've read it one way you the other.
It could mean;
1) I want to delete files on deletion of the app. My problem is I have files in a shared folder for those who upgrade.
2) I want to delete files on deletion of my app to clear them for users upgrading.
I read it the first way as this was what was in the first post and the other immediate responses were saying it wasn't possible to do.
Perhaps some clarification is in order so we are not talking at cross purposes.
03-04-2013 07:44 AM
Below is the scenario:
I have an app that is installed, it has some settings written to some files. By default the files resides in app's data folder.
Usaully when I delete the app the files in data folder of app is cleared.
So, if just updating the app, by installing another version of the app without manually deleting the existing app will not delete the files created by the previous version, then I am OK with that, else I may need to save those file external to app's data folder.