Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

New Contributor
My Device: Q10 - Developer
My Carrier: Singtel

Headless app - System start trigger

Hi,

I am a pretty new developer to blackberry, so please pardon me if I sound noob. 

I am currently interested in creating an app which requires it to start automatically in the background when the phone starts up or restarts to perform certain simple actions such as cleaning up the document folder for example.

I am looking into developing my app as headless using the bb.action.system.STARTED trigger. I have correctly set up my bar-descriptor.xml file using the Xandos app found on github. I managed to invoke the trigger with help from the sample app using the onInvoked() function. However upon restart of my Q10, nothing happens as expected because nothing is invoked. 

Is there anyway for me to get the system to invoke the bb.action.system.STARTED trigger every time the phone starts?

Thank you in advance!

Developer
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Re: Headless app - System start trigger

My question here http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Native-Development/Headless-App-developing/m-p/2592991#M47865 and Shadid's response (his second one actually, three posts after my question) appear to say that you won't be able to test this until and unless you've submitted the request form to get permission to sign headless apps, and had it approved.

As far as I know, nobody has publicly reported that they've received this permission yet (even though it's been many weeks for some), so it sounds like nobody except some close partners is likely to be able to test this yet.

I'd suggest you apply for the permission immediately, in case doing it sooner rather than later will help: https://developer.blackberry.com/jam/headless/