Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 1,621
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Fido

How to get Wifi signal?

I searched the doc and could not find any information on how to read the wifi signal.

 

Is this possible with the currnet SDK in Cascade?

 

Developer
Posts: 358
Registered: ‎04-13-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: How to get Wifi signal?

Developer
Posts: 1,621
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Fido

Re: How to get Wifi signal?

Thanks but it doesn't go into much detail.

 

I'm looking at getting the wifi strength signal and not just the status of wifi. Thanks

Developer
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎03-13-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Q10, Z10, Z30
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: How to get Wifi signal?

wifi_get_scan_result_signal_level()

 

This API seems to address your question, though the documentation is too thin for me to judge. 

Developer
Posts: 1,621
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Fido

Re: How to get Wifi signal?


mmd12 wrote:

wifi_get_scan_result_signal_level()

 

This API seems to address your question, though the documentation is too thin for me to judge. 


thanks but that seems to be only available in the Native SDK.  I have looked and there is no header file that contain this api.

Retired
Posts: 749
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Bell

Re: How to get Wifi signal?

You are probably still using the 10.2 beta (what header file are you looking at?)

 

In 10.2 gold (target_10_2_0_1155) that API should be present.

Paul Bernhardt
Application Development Consultant
BlackBerry
@PBernhardt

Did this answer your question? Please accept this post as the solution.
Found a bug? Report it to the Developer Issue Tracker
Developer
Posts: 1,621
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Fido

Re: How to get Wifi signal?

[ Edited ]

Paul, I have 10.2 but with target_10_2_0_339 I guess i should upgrade to the 10.2 gold.

 

So that means the api is only available for 10.2?

 

edit:  just try to update from the IDE and it does not give me option to update to 1155. Does that mean i have to get the Gold version again?

Retired
Posts: 749
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Bell

Re: How to get Wifi signal?

It may just be the indexer not working correctly. Do you have that target_10_2_0_1155 folder?

Paul Bernhardt
Application Development Consultant
BlackBerry
@PBernhardt

Did this answer your question? Please accept this post as the solution.
Found a bug? Report it to the Developer Issue Tracker
Developer
Posts: 1,621
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Fido

Re: How to get Wifi signal?


PBernhardt wrote:

It may just be the indexer not working correctly. Do you have that target_10_2_0_1155 folder?


I don't have that target.  I think i still have 10.2 beta.
can the beta be upgraded to the gold sdk?

Retired
Posts: 749
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Bell

Re: How to get Wifi signal?

Yes. If you do "Update API Levels" from the Help menu, under the Gold tab you should see "BlackBerry Native SDK 10.2". In the Beta tab, you can then uninstall the 10.2 beta to keep things tidy.

Paul Bernhardt
Application Development Consultant
BlackBerry
@PBernhardt

Did this answer your question? Please accept this post as the solution.
Found a bug? Report it to the Developer Issue Tracker