Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-10-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Dialog
Accepted Solution

How to make a QML page to appear only on first launch

How do I make a qml page to appear only on the first time the app is launched? 

 

I need to create a tabbed pane and the number of tabs depends n the input of the user which he provides on the first launch. How do I make this happen?

Developer
Posts: 508
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
My Device: My Trusty Red Plane
My Carrier: Outer Space

Re: How to make a QML page to appear only on first launch

You can use QSettings to store settings.

 

Create two main qmls (mainHasInput.qml and mainHasNoInput.qml). When the user starts your app for the first time, load mainHasNoInput.qml. If the user enters the correct input values, write that into your QSettings. The next time the app launches, you check if a setting was stored into your QSettings. if no, show your mainHasNoInput.qml, if yes, show mainHasInput.qml (which is your 'normal' main screen)

 

for an example how to use QSettings, see https://developer.blackberry.com/native/sampleapps/ -> "Persistant Objects"

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm a bird from outer space. But I'm not flappy o.o
Developer
Posts: 1,749
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: How to make a QML page to appear only on first launch

take a look how I'm showing a Page with EULA only one time:

 

my blog: http://appbus.wordpress.com/2013/10/09/eula-at-first-start-of-app/

or here at BlackBerry Developer Blog: http://devblog.blackberry.com/2013/11/secrets-of-the-blackberry-jam-asia-conference-app-part-1-imple...

 

hope it helps to get the idea

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎11-10-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Dialog

Re: How to make a QML page to appear only on first launch

[ Edited ]

I did as you said, and it works. Thanx alot pyth