Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-18-2013
My Device: Non-BlackBerry user
My Carrier: Non

How to retreive my phone number

Hi all,

I tried to get my phone number with bb::system:Smiley Tonguehone.

But the return is not what i want.

it only returns the number what i set in Settings->Secure And Private->Sim card.

I just wanna the real phone number of my sim card.

do you guys have any idea?

 

-Landy

Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-05-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Optus

Re: How to retreive my phone number

There is no phone number on the SIM card. The phone number is configured in the router of the telco.

The phone does not really know what phone number is has. With this approach the carrier can assign a new phone number to your phone (e.g. when you are harassed) without the need to change the SIM
Developer
Posts: 109
Registered: ‎08-23-2012
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: TATA DOCOMO

Re: How to retreive my phone number

[ Edited ]

As per my knowledge, we can't get the sim phone number. We can retrieve it only if we have already save it.

This is not possible in general. Your SIM has an IMSI, but only the operator does map that to an actual phone number.

You can read for you clarification from the below link

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_mobile_subscriber_identit

 

I think this will clear your doubt.

Dharmender Singh
Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-18-2013
My Device: Non-BlackBerry user
My Carrier: Non

Re: How to retreive my phone number

This is really a bad news to me.
I need phone number to identify. If we can only get the number which is set by user himself, it is foolish to me.
As i know, android can get phone number, why BB10 not?
Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-18-2013
My Device: Non-BlackBerry user
My Carrier: Non

Re: How to retreive my phone number

This is really a bad news to me.
I need phone number to identify. If we can only get the number which is set by user himself, it is foolish to me.
As i know, android can get phone number, why BB10 not?

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 17,012
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: How to retreive my phone number

according to the 10.2 timeline there will be changes to the phone API that may allow you to retrieve line numbers.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter