Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: none

IDE not able to connect device through wifi

Hi, I'm using NDK2.0beta, I'm able to debug on simulator, able to go throught the "Deployment Setup Wizard" with wifi option successfully, but in the "debug configurations", the "wifi" device is always "Not connected". I can use command line to deploy my app to device, but can not debug it through IDE.

 

Anyone have an idea about this? 

 

thank you.

Developer
Posts: 1,807
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.3.2.858, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.2576, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.2582, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.1.2576, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: IDE not able to connect device through wifi

I've found that the IDE is temperamental. It doesn't like to connect, but when I restart the WiFi on my PlayBook, it will connect.

It's not really a fix but it's a temporary workaround for now (it is a beta after all).
---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: none

Re: IDE not able to connect device through wifi

well, I've tried, restart WiFi does not help, restart device, restart IDE, reinstall IDE, none of them work. I got stuck here.

Developer
Posts: 1,807
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.3.2.858, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.2576, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.2582, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.1.2576, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: IDE not able to connect device through wifi

Make sure that you are on the same network. For example, where I am, the wireless and wired networks are different. So I need to take my laptop off wired internet in order for it to connect.
---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Highlighted
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 417
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: PlayBook

Re: IDE not able to connect device through wifi

When you launch on device select wifi target even if it not connected, it will attempt to connect on launch - it will ask your password. Also make sure you are not running blackberry-connnect from command line, because it would interfere.