Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
My Device: BB10 Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: T-Mobile

NavigationPane as non-root element

I'm trying to place NavigationPane inside Container to have some static elements on screen while sliding through others. Unfortunately, I got error message:

main.qml:7:9: Cannot assign object to list
            NavigationPane {
            ^)

Now I'm looking for a workaround and would appreciate any ideas or suggestions. Thanks.

 

--
Oleg Shparber
Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: NavigationPane as non-root element

Container can only have type "Control" added to it, NavigationPane does not extend from "Control" so cannot be added.

 

NavigationPane should be to root element of your display.

 

What are you trying to accomplish? I may be able to offer an alternate solution.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Developer
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
My Device: BB10 Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: NavigationPane as non-root element

Thanks for quick reply, Garett. I'd like to have static top and bottom panels in my app. And the area between panels should slide from page to page like in NavigationPane.
--
Oleg Shparber
Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: NavigationPane as non-root element

For that you would likely need to create something custom, sliding Containers in/out of view.

 

What will be in the header and footer? A TabbedPane keeps the same footer with navigation netween the Panes in this area.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Developer
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
My Device: BB10 Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: NavigationPane as non-root element

Header and footer will be custom panels. So, I'll try to play with sliding Containers. I want the transition feels like native. Is there any similar examples or NavigationPane source I missed?
--
Oleg Shparber
Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: NavigationPane as non-root element

No sample comes to mind. If you have a good use-case that could be universally applicable to multiple apps then I'd suggest logging a new feature request in Issue Tracker:

JIRA

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Retired
Posts: 499
Registered: ‎05-07-2012
My Device: developer
My Carrier: developer

Re: NavigationPane as non-root element

Did you find a strategy, or are you stuck?

Either way, I'm interested in your progress.

 

Stuart

Developer
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
My Device: BB10 Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: NavigationPane as non-root element

I simply abandoned Cascades and implemented everything in pure Qt Quick's QML. It's much easier, feature rich and stable for now.

--
Oleg Shparber
Retired
Posts: 499
Registered: ‎05-07-2012
My Device: developer
My Carrier: developer

Re: NavigationPane as non-root element

This can be an appropriate choice for some projects.

You give up the deep integration with the OS and the signature Blackberry experience provided through Cascades.

 

Stuart

Developer
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
My Device: BB10 Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: NavigationPane as non-root element

[ Edited ]

Actually, I'm reimplementing Cascades-like UI components in Qt Quick, so, I don't think that end-user ever find any difference with native Cascades. For now my goal is to give my future users native experience with app done in Qt Quick. I really don't understand why it isn't the RIM's choice instead developing the same from scratch.

Maybe I'll publish my components as open source in the future.

--
Oleg Shparber