Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Airtel

OS update

Does anyone know how and where to get the OS update to the Dev Alpha device?

Developer
Posts: 368
Registered: ‎06-30-2012
My Device: Playbook, Z10LE, DevAlpha C
My Carrier: Telenor, Mobitel

Re: OS update

Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 10 Alpha

Re: OS update

1. Go to Beta zone register download the BB Desktop alpha/beta version
2. Install it
3. Connect your Dev device to it
4. It will pop you if there is a new update for your phone.
5. You need to follow the instruction found in the Beta zone to update your device.
6. Good Luck.
Retired
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎12-20-2010
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: OS update

you don't need to go to betazone. Everyone can access it at http://developer.blackberry.com/bb10devalpha.

Thanks
New Developer
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
My Device: Blackberry Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Bell

Re: OS update

How long is the update supposed to take once it has transferred onto the device and the device rebooted?

Mine has been displaying the splash screen for over 40 minutes and my computer has already connected to the device and mounted it.
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
My Device: BlackBerry 10 Alpha

Re: OS update

It is around 30-40 minutes for my case, at the beginning the progression was slow, so just wait as long as it is moving. Good Luck.
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
My Device: N/A
My Carrier: N/A

Re: OS update

To my experience,  it may fail in some cases. but you can try that procedure use different login name. I try upgrade my dev apha with admin and it failed.  But it succeeded after I use the normal user to do that. Strange. Yeah.

 

Good Luck.

Developer
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-22-2012
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Telstra

Re: OS update

[ Edited ]

Hey marc25v, it's a pretty common problem when updating to a new platfrom version. I had the same problem few days ago as well.


Check this thread out - http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Testing-and-Deployment/DevAlpha-not-updating-on-Desktop-Bundl...

 

In my case, when I  reconnected the device again, additional 2 modules were installed and after that everything went smoothly.

 

Good luck!

Highlighted
New Developer
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
My Device: Blackberry Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Bell

Re: OS update

Thank you. That worked Smiley Wink