Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Developer
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎12-26-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Telus
Accepted Solution

One Qucik Question about SDK 10.1

Would application compiled using the 10.1 SDK run on phones running 10.0.xx OS?

 

Thanksss

www.jackdevora.com
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-30-2013
My Device: BB10 Dev Alpha A
My Carrier: China Mobile

Re: One Qucik Question about SDK 10.1

It would. My current app is using SDK 10.1 and pass test on both 10.0.xx (Dev Alpha A) and 10.1 (Simulator Q10).
Developer
Posts: 1,748
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: One Qucik Question about SDK 10.1


wangzw wrote:
It would. My current app is using SDK 10.1 and pass test on both 10.0.xx (Dev Alpha A) and 10.1 (Simulator Q10).

I guess you only use 10.0 API ?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-30-2013
My Device: BB10 Dev Alpha A
My Carrier: China Mobile

Re: One Qucik Question about SDK 10.1

That is true. There is no way 10.0.xx can support any new API in SDK 10.1.
Developer
Posts: 1,748
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: One Qucik Question about SDK 10.1

so the answer on this question:

 

apps are running well on 10.0 devices if only 10.0 API was used

otherwise you have to build different releases

 

choosing the SDK inside 10.1 IDE is important to debug on devices - then you have to select the SDK which is running on your device

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Developer
Posts: 17,025
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: One Qucik Question about SDK 10.1

the official answer is:
use a lower/equal SDK to build.
while 10.1 apps may run on 10.0 devices it is not guaranteed.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 1,748
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: One Qucik Question about SDK 10.1


simon_hain wrote:
the official answer is:
use a lower/equal SDK to build.
while 10.1 apps may run on 10.0 devices it is not guaranteed.

same as I'm doing it:

 

IDE: 10.1 Gold

 

use 10.0.x SDK for Releases running on 10.0 / 10.1 devices

 

use 10.1 SDK for Releases running on 10.1 devices

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner