Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Developer
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: ...

Poor rendering performance, seeking some tips

Hi All,

I should start by saying I am a self taught novice programmer and I don't have much experience with rendering things...

I have made a pdf reader for the playbook using Qt c++, based on the Qt4 demo's example that comes with the  poppler open source pdf library.

I am finding that the performance is lacking, particularly when it comes to the pinch to zoom function I just implemented and also for things like adjusting the size of the TOC or other QDock widgets, the speed is unacceptable. It takes a couple of seconds to reload/render the pdf page after each zoom request so you can imagine the lag time when trying to zoom in on anything with a pinch... Its not so bad if I use a spin box to select a zoom factor but its terrible when trying to use pinch.

I am wondering if using QOpenGL would make a difference here? I really don't know anything about QOpenGL except that it will try to use the devices GPU to speed up rendering?

I am using Splash with poppler for the rendering currently.

So I guess my question is, should I start looking into openGL for rendering the PDF's to increase performance, or does Qt already use openGL for rendering behind the scenes?

I just don't want to waste a bunch of time trying to learn how to use openGL if its not going to help out with performance on my playbook....

Does anyone know how the pinch to zoom function in the current pdf reader that comes with the pb is so smooth?

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

Jon

Developer
My Device: BlackBerry 9900 & PlayBook
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Poor rendering performance, seeking some tips