Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
My Device: bold 9000
My Carrier: airtel

QML Editor With no graphical display.

Hi All,

 

This is my first post in this part of the development.

 

I instaled the latest gold sdk. After instaling i created a project just to check how it will run. I got a error that Qml Editor has some problem.

 

Later i came to know that the qml Graphical layout is not displayed.

 

Could any one help me. I am trying to code in BB10 for the first time and please also let me know the proper procedure to code.

 

Hoping to hear from few.

 

Thanks & Regards

Krishnan

Developer
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎12-31-2012
My Device: Blackberry 9810
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: QML Editor With no graphical display.

HI

Did you start of with one of the sample projects (like Hello World) that comes shipped with the SDK. Please provide more details.

When u have created a custom component in C++, the graphical editor normally doesnt work. But i dont think that is the issue in your case.

Could you provide the error msg?
Developer
Developer
Posts: 132
Registered: ‎08-24-2011
My Device: Z10 LE + Playbook
My Carrier: MTS Ukraine

Re: QML Editor With no graphical display.

QML preview if you import import bb.cascades 1.0 in your QML file only. If you add bb.multimedia or bb.data it won't work.

 

Also QML preview is not working on Linux. 

Thank you!
----------------------------
My Apps: Alchemy Game | Image Resizer | Jam! | Traffic Signs: USA | Radio Record
My Blog: http://bb10pro.com
Developer
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
My Device: bold 9000
My Carrier: airtel

Re: QML Editor With no graphical display.

[ Edited ]

Hi dishooom,klz,

 

Thanks For your quick reply.

 

Please find the attached image as to show you which part is not working in my qnx momentics

 

I have tried to uninstal and reinstall the sdk but still it is not opening the graphic layout.

 

The Error message came only once and i am not able get the error message again, even though the problem persists.

 

// Default empty project template
import bb.cascades 1.0

// creates one page with a label
Page {
Container {
layout: DockLayout {}
Label {
text: qsTr("Hello World")
textStyle.base: SystemDefaults.TextStyles.BigText
verticalAlignment: VerticalAlignment.Center
horizontalAlignment: HorizontalAlignment.Center
}
}
}

 

The above is a standard empty file which will be generated for a application, As you can see the import is bb.cascades 1.0 but still its of no use.

 

Am i suppose to add something else or how do i resolve the problem

 

Hoping to hear from you soon.

 

qmlissue.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks & Regards

Krishnan

Regular Contributor
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: QML Editor With no graphical display.

Hi All,

 

Please note this can be enabled through the Eclipse prefernce Setting

 

you need to do that is Windows - > Preferences 

Choose Balckberry  - > QML Editor 

 

if you see check box in the right side saying that Disabled Preview button is enabled please uncheck then apply and close all the view and open the QML file it will work

 

please update it if you find any solution so that will be helpfull for other new to the QNX platform 

 

thanks

Developer
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
My Device: bold 9000
My Carrier: airtel

Re: QML Editor With no graphical display.

Hi Krishnan8727,

 

Sorry for the delay in response. As i was busy on another project.

 

I tried the steps given by you. but it first dispays the qml checking and then faials with the following message

 

"QML Preview compatibility check failed. QML Preview disabled"

 

@ all Please let me know how to proceed.

 

I am too eager to do my first project and get a hang of the language.

 

Thanks in Advance

Krishnan.

Developer
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
My Device: Bold 9780 + 32GB Playbook, Dev Alpha B & C
My Carrier: Telus

Re: QML Editor With no graphical display.

i too am experiencing this problem

 

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-19-2012
My Device: Bold 9780 + 32GB Playbook, Dev Alpha B & C
My Carrier: Telus

Re: QML Editor With no graphical display.

Window>Preference

expand Blackbery

select QML editor, Uncheck "Disable QML Previewer"

 

Apply changes, OK, and then restart Momentics.

 

This worked for me.

Regular Contributor
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: QML Editor With no graphical display.

Have you tried restarting, the IDE and if they is not enabling check your system configuration has less memory or less graphics card support 

Developer
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎12-09-2011
My Device: 9360, BB10
My Carrier: Aircel

Re: QML Editor With no graphical display.

Please check your system configuration. I think it is less then the requirement.