Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Highlighted
Developer
My Device: Z30, Z10, Q10, Passport
My Carrier: Telus
Accepted Solution

Read value from XML or JSON based on key name

I can't figure out how to get the url value for Image_Calendar1 from either the XML or the JSON data.  Sorry if it's "obvious" but I'm a new developer.  

I've been cheating and using ListItemData.value[1].url but in this case the XML feed changes the number of values some times which throws off my method.  I need to be able to get the value based on the key name.  Is that possible? 

Thanks. Here are samples of the XML and the correspnding JSON. 

<data serverTime="--------------" offset="-240">
<script id="tinyhippos-injected"/>
<row recordDate="--------------" updateDate="--------------" rowId="--------------">
<value key="template">TableRow_CalendarDays</value>
</row>
<row recordDate="--------------" updateDate="--------------" rowId="--------------">
<value key="template">TableRow_Calendar</value>
<value key="Image_Calendar1">
<url>--------------</url>
</value>
<value key="Label_Team1">
<text/>
</value>
<value key="Label_Score1">
<text/>
</value>
<value key="Label_Status1">
<text/>
</value>
<value key="Label_Calendar1">
<text/>
</value>
<value key="Label_GameId1">
<text/>
</value>
<value key="Image_Calendar2">
<url>--------------</url>
</value>
<value key="Label_Team2">
<text/>
</value>
<value key="Label_Score2">
<text/>
</value>
<value key="Label_Status2">
<text/>
</value>
<value key="Label_Calendar2">
<text/>
</value>
<value key="Label_GameId2">
<text/>
</value>