02-28-2013 07:34 AM - edited 02-28-2013 07:35 AM
There are a few ways of keeping persistant storage past an upgrade, and settings (QSettings), sql files, etc. are some of these. A standard upgrade does not delete the app just replaces the non-persistant parts, i.e executable, assets, etc..
If a user deletes the app first though all this is lost. If you want to keep settings in this scenario then some kind of export/import or backup/restore app feature would need to be written.
02-28-2013 08:05 AM - edited 02-28-2013 08:25 AM
Not specifically to do with this as I'm aware and to be honest it would be very risky for you to implement your own as you'd have to stay in lock step with OS changes. Even if you could get deep enough into the security that your app is allowed to remove from secured areas any security changes or hidden files placed elsewhere in the file structure in future OS's subsequently added by BlackBerry would likely leave your implementation broken.
So unless you are writing a 'Removal/Clean up app' then my advice is to leave it well alone.
02-28-2013 08:11 AM