Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-12-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Lebera

Use same source code for multiple clients

Hi,

 

I am working on a project where i need to have a single project(source code) which can be configurable to multiple clients. I was looking for ios target kind of functionality.

 

Mostly I will be configuring splash screens,icons and application name.

 

Thanks in advance.

Retired
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎09-06-2010
My Device: None
My Carrier: None

Re: Use same source code for multiple clients

Developer
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Use same source code for multiple clients

for this kind of stuff I'm using GitHub Branches:

one Branch per Customer

and the Master for the normal development

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-12-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Lebera

Re: Use same source code for multiple clients

Thanks for your quick reply,

 

Yes, I have seen it..

Lets say If I have multiple projects under asserts folder

-Assets

       - Client 1

       - Client 2

 

If I package the above application all the resources of Client1 and Client 2 are going to be build .

 

Correct me if I am wrong.

 

Once again Thanks for your reply.

Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-12-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Lebera

Re: Use same source code for multiple clients



Thanks for your quick reply,



Yes, I have seen it..

Lets say If I have multiple projects under asserts folder

-Assets

- Client 1

- Client 2



If I package the above application all the resources of Client1 and Client 2 are going to be build .



Correct me if I am wrong.



Once again Thanks for your reply.
Developer
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Use same source code for multiple clients


arun7725 wrote:

Lets say If I have multiple projects under asserts folder

-Assets
  - Client 1
  - Client 2

If I package the above application all the resources of Client1 and Client 2 are going to be build .

Correct me if I am wrong.
Once again Thanks for your reply.

all under assets will be built

but then you'll have something like

 

assets/client1/images/x.png

assets/client2/images/x.png

 

and referencing your assets you have to insert the client into the path

 

and all of your clients will have all client-specific assets of all your clients which is no good practice

 

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-12-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Lebera

Re: Use same source code for multiple clients

We cant keep all the clients resources in assets, as the application loads all resources irrespective of client.

Is there any solution without compiling all clients resources.

 

Thanks

Developer
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Use same source code for multiple clients

is your application a public application submitted to BB World

or is it an App running from BES10 via customer-bb-world ?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-12-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Lebera

Re: Use same source code for multiple clients

It may vary for different clients.

We are planning for BBWOrld.

Developer
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Use same source code for multiple clients

don't know about your build-process and source-repo

 

Git-Branches can help:

one branch per customer only used for customer-specific assets and building the app

development from master branch

 

Or you have extra folders

<your eclipse project>/client1

...

 

and from your build process while building all the client-specific apps

at first copy the client-specific data into root

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner