02-10-2014 02:10 PM
When enabling a permission (through the Settings -> Security -> Permissions screen) - does an app instantly get granted that permission, or does it need to be restarted?
For example, an app starts and access_shared is disabled. The user then enables the permission - can the app then start reading data from the user's shared files directory? At the moment I'm trying to open a sqlite database and its failing - but starts working after the app has restarted.
02-10-2014 04:44 PM
I've not seen this documented anywhere and possibly it differs depending on the permission.
I think you answered your own question, however...
I've just done a quick check on this and it seems, at least for file permission, that the permission is read only on app start. If the permission is on when started , and subsequently turned off, a write is still allowed while the app is running and vice versa.
02-10-2014 04:53 PM
yes I didn't see this documented either. But I just noticed a small bit of sample code in the docs (App Permissions) - that pops up a dialog saying "you have to restart the app after changing permissions". Definitely in the case of file permissions, observed behaviour indicates a restart is required.
02-10-2014 04:58 PM