Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Developer
My Device: none
My Carrier: none
Accepted Solution

cascade dev and blackberry playbook

hello bb forum

I was watching the past cascades development videos and the presenter said that currently the playbook does not support blackberry 10 os, so apps made with cascades won't work on the playbook as of now. While I don't currently have a play book there is one on the way.

I wanted to start creating some apps that I would be able to put on blackberry appworld, my question is using the new sdk and development tools. Are the current devices supported? Who would be able to download and use the apps. Sorry for the question but I am totally new to blackberry.

blubee.

Developer
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: cascade dev and blackberry playbook

welcome to the forums.

at the moment only users with a DevAlpha could download and use your applications done with Cascades.
BB10 launches on 30.01.2013, until then you won't have much of a big audience.

The PlayBook is rumored to get BB10 sometime middle next year, but there is nothing confirmed in any way.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer

Hi simon_hain

Thanks for the quick response. It seems this app build up is for the blackberry 10 phone coming out early next year, which I can completely understand.

That brings up two questions I had then, the current blackberry playbooks out there can't really be used as bb 10 development devices.