Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Contributor
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: Rogers

developing apps for musicians - noob

I'm thinking of trying my hand at writing some apps for musicians for the BB10 / Playbook platform.  I have some programming experience in the (distant) past, mostly in C++ and a bit of Java.  I've never coded for a mobile platform really (except a wee bit when I worked at RIM over 10 years ago).  A few of questions from a Noob:

1) For this type of app (apps for musicians that can play musical notes), what is the best environment - Native C/C++ or Java?  Or are both equally suitable? Which is easier?

2) Does the Blackberry 10 / Playbook OS have anything like a built-in wavetable with an API that app developers can use to play musical notes with a variety of instrument sounds, or will my apps have to include audio samples for all of these?

3) Is there a total noob-guide for absolute beginners to get started writing simple "hello-world" type apps for BB10/playbook, and that maybe ease the reader into the various APIs?

Thanks for any help - feel free also to contact me directly with any suggestions:  philkaye@live.ca

Retired
My Device: developer
My Carrier: developer

Re: developing apps for musicians - noob

For BB10/Cascades, check out the sample app cowbell in https://bdsc.webapps.blackberry.com/cascades/sampleapps.  This shows how to incorporate and play wav files in your app.

Developer
My Device: Playbook, Z10, Q10, Z30 with Files & Folders and Orbit of course
My Carrier: Vodafone

1) For this type of app (apps for musicians that can play musical notes), what is the best environment - Native C/C++ or Java?  Or are both equally suitable? Which is easier?