Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
My Device: Z30 running 10.2 and Playbook 4GLTE running OS2.1
My Carrier: rogers

name of the application in Device Monitor?

hey gang,

 

which setting/variable defines the name of an application in the device monitor?

 

I have a headless app - so a headless part and a UI part, and what shows up in Device Monitor is the name of the UI part.

 

I'd like to set the name to something that is not (necessarliy) the name of one of the executables.

 

how do i do this?

 

thx,

 

J

bron: a cron-like scheduler for BlackBerry 10
http://apps.oddelement.com
Developer
Posts: 6,152
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30
My Carrier: Orange

Re: name of the application in Device Monitor?

I'm not sure this is possible, have you tried a different name tag in the bar-descriptor.xml?


If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. Smiley Happy

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
Developer
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
My Device: Z30 running 10.2 and Playbook 4GLTE running OS2.1
My Carrier: rogers

Re: name of the application in Device Monitor?

I did, but that didn't seem to work.

Does that mean that services like "BlackBerry Travel" or "Power Tools" have executables call "Power Tools"? Seems odd to have a binary with a space in the name..

bron: a cron-like scheduler for BlackBerry 10
http://apps.oddelement.com
Developer
Posts: 6,152
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30
My Carrier: Orange

Re: name of the application in Device Monitor?

You can have whatever name you like but the install directory comes from the id tag.

When you say it didn't work what exactly didn't?

You changed the name in the headless part but it still showed the applications name?

If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. Smiley Happy

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
Developer
Posts: 6,152
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30
My Carrier: Orange

Re: name of the application in Device Monitor?

Okay just experimented with this myself and it appears you can't change the name, it takes it from the application part only.
So changing the name tag in the application part is the only way to change the name.

If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. Smiley Happy

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
Retired
Posts: 749
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Bell

Re: name of the application in Device Monitor?

Obviously, we don't want users to find it difficult to figure out which apps are causing battery or performance issues, so what they see in the Device Monitor needs to line up with the name of the app.

Paul Bernhardt
Application Development Consultant
BlackBerry
@PBernhardt

Did this answer your question? Please accept this post as the solution.
Found a bug? Report it to the Developer Issue Tracker
Developer
Posts: 6,152
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30
My Carrier: Orange

Re: name of the application in Device Monitor?

Fair enough. :-)

If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. Smiley Happy

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.