Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Retired
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
My Device: BB10 alpha-BB10 developer
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: notification_alert() -- where i'm wrong?

sorry, I did not make it clear that I only tested the code on simulator.

My quick test just indicated that code did not work on device  as well.

Once we got clarification for the usage of Notification APIs, I will get back to you.

Thanks for your patience.

 

 

Retired
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
My Device: BB10 alpha-BB10 developer
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: notification_alert() -- where i'm wrong?

[ Edited ]

Actually,

 

My device was messed up.

 

notification_message_add_prompt_choice

worked on my device.

one question for u:

did you enable "notification" in your bar-descriptor.xml?

e.g.:

<action>post_notification</action>

 

Thereby, just "toast" notification message did not work as expected for me.

(got  led blinkings and vibration but no "toast" message in the UI)

 

Will get you posted once we get answer for the "toast" notification.

 

 

 

Developer
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
My Device: Bold 9780, DevAlpha
My Carrier: Vodafone CZ

Re: notification_alert() -- where i'm wrong?

Thanks! Now it works!

Retired
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
My Device: BB10 alpha-BB10 developer
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: notification_alert() -- where i'm wrong?

The followings are the update we got for this issue:

 

 

  1. For third party developers there’s no need to set the appId. No harm either, but if it changes later for some reason,it  may generate an error, so it’s better not to set it at all.
  2. Third parties shouldn’t be setting the type. Before you can use a type, you need to declare it, and there’s no support for third parties to do that ATM, so this code should be removed as well.
  3. Regarding the issue for Toasts. Toasts are reserved for internal use by system services, and are not open to third parties. That documentation will be removed.

     

    Thanks for your patience.

     

     

Developer
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
My Device: Bold 9780, DevAlpha
My Carrier: Vodafone CZ

Re: notification_alert() -- where i'm wrong?

So, there is no possibility to make info window, like a Status.Show() in BBOS?

Developer
Posts: 1,068
Registered: ‎11-24-2011
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: x

Re: notification_alert() -- where i'm wrong?

Why don't you use dialog.h functions?

Developer
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
My Device: Bold 9780, DevAlpha
My Carrier: Vodafone CZ

Re: notification_alert() -- where i'm wrong?

Dialogs available in my application only, not in the system

Retired
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎10-26-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: notification_alert() -- where i'm wrong?


AlexXF wrote:

Dialogs available in my application only, not in the system


 

System dialogs are not available to third party apps at this time.

Developer
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
My Device: Bold 9780, DevAlpha
My Carrier: Vodafone CZ

Re: notification_alert() -- where i'm wrong?

Great... I've build application that works on 10.0.6, now i have to send it into trash can.

Nothing to say... Smiley Sad