Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 194
Registered: ‎11-24-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha B, Bold 9700
My Carrier: NA

status bar? title bar? How do I display at the top of an app?

[ Edited ]

In iOS, the SDK can set the status bar visible or not.  This contains the battery strength, time, network connection, etc., at the top of the screen.

 

I've searched Action Bar, Title Bar, Status Bar, and can't find the API's to show or hide the status bar, or whatever the SDK calls it. Smiley Wink

 

Any ideas on how to do this programatically?

Developer
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Re: status bar? title bar? How do I display at the top of an app?

There's no such feature, for now, for third-party apps (as far as I know).

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Developer
Posts: 194
Registered: ‎11-24-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha B, Bold 9700
My Carrier: NA

Re: status bar? title bar? How do I display at the top of an app?

I hope it's on the TODO list.

 

 

Developer
Posts: 293
Registered: ‎10-15-2012
My Device: bb10 developer
My Carrier: Orange

Re: status bar? title bar? How do I display at the top of an app?

The user can always "swipe up" whilst any application is running to see new mail notications, and also the status area at the top of the phone - why would you need to do this programmatically?

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 194
Registered: ‎11-24-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha B, Bold 9700
My Carrier: NA

Re: status bar? title bar? How do I display at the top of an app?

If the user has an app that's running over a prolonged period, they may want to have time and battery information visible without having to swipe up every time.  It's more of a convenience thing.

 

With content being 'king' it's not a common use case, but I can see some apps where it would be beneficial.

Developer
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎10-18-2012
My Device: BB Z10
My Carrier: -

Re: status bar? title bar? How do I display at the top of an app?

Is there any progress on this issue?

Developer
Posts: 16,997
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: status bar? title bar? How do I display at the top of an app?


sgallego84 wrote:

Is there any progress on this issue?


unless somebody requested it as a feature in jira or somewhere else: most likely no.

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter