Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Native Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Developer
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

strange device password behaviour

I'm testing an app on  different devices (Z10, Z30, Q10), all connected via WIFI


normaly no problem

 

today I got a strange behaviour:

from time to time on the devices I'm getting

You've entered 5 times a wrong password, please type "blackberry" to unlock... 

 followed by the dialog to enter the device password. then I could unlock and work on

 

Momentics 2.0

OSX

all devices 10.2.0.429 / 10.2.0.1803

 

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Developer
Posts: 6,152
Registered: ‎07-05-2012
My Device: Playbook, Dev Alpha C, Z10 LE, Z30
My Carrier: Orange

Re: strange device password behaviour

Is it more than one device as otherwise I would have suggested a sticky key or something similar.


If you've been helped click on Like Button, if you've been saved buy the app. Smiley Happy

Developer of stokLocker, Sympatico and Super Sentences.
Developer
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: strange device password behaviour


BBSJdev wrote:

Is it more than one device as otherwise I would have suggested a sticky key or something similar.


more then one device

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 237
Registered: ‎05-21-2012
My Device: BlackBerry RED Z10
My Carrier: WiFi

Re: strange device password behaviour

I have never encountered this problem yet. Have you tried a restart on all devices?

Developer
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: strange device password behaviour


nemory wrote:

I have never encountered this problem yet. Have you tried a restart on all devices?


yep

 

will take a look on it if it will happen again to find a pattern

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Developer
Posts: 237
Registered: ‎05-21-2012
My Device: BlackBerry RED Z10
My Carrier: WiFi

Re: strange device password behaviour

I also think this should be a momentics IDE problem. Maybe it tries to switch off and on the development mode that's why it asks a password.

Developer
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: strange device password behaviour


nemory wrote:

I also think this should be a momentics IDE problem. Maybe it tries to switch off and on the development mode that's why it asks a password.


or because I'm switching really fast between devices:

  • deploy to Z30
    • start a function which will take 2 minutes
  • depoloy to Z10
    • doing the same
  • deploy to Q10
    • again the same

 

perhaps this confuses Momentics trying to connect to devices with a wrong password,

because I'm deploying to another target while the current target is doing something

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Developer
Posts: 237
Registered: ‎05-21-2012
My Device: BlackBerry RED Z10
My Carrier: WiFi

Re: strange device password behaviour

I am also currently compiling to 3 devices, Dev Alpha C, Z10 and another Z10 with different OS. But I have the same Device Password for all phones. Are your passwords different in each? Maybe setting all in the same password can prevent the issue