Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Testing and Deployment

Reply
Developer
Posts: 676
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha & PlayBook
My Carrier: wifi

Re: Changed Package ID and forgot old one?

oh thats both good and bad I guess.

 

Can you see if my app will download onto your phone?

 

http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/117347/?lang=en

_________________________________________________________
co-founder of Diaree | BB Dev for PictureThis
Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Changed Package ID and forgot old one?

I just installed, worked fine Smiley Happy. But whoa! 7.4MB is a large app

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Developer
Posts: 676
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha & PlayBook
My Carrier: wifi

Re: Changed Package ID and forgot old one?

Big mistake I was building a phonegap project and webworks in the same file structure and forgot to delete all the icons and splash screens for several devices oops :s

 

But I still don't get why it wouldn't be working on both BlackBerry devices I have here? The only thing I havn't tried is returning the phone to factory settings.

_________________________________________________________
co-founder of Diaree | BB Dev for PictureThis
Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Changed Package ID and forgot old one?

Do they have 7.4 MB of free app space? Do you have different app versions for those devices vs a 9790 (what I tested using)?

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Developer
Posts: 676
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha & PlayBook
My Carrier: wifi

Re: Changed Package ID and forgot old one?

I have 30 MB free space and only 1 app version for phones and 1 for Playbook.
_________________________________________________________
co-founder of Diaree | BB Dev for PictureThis
Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Changed Package ID and forgot old one?

You could try resetting the phones to factory, but the issue is strange as it is working fine for me. 

 

Did you have to wipe the phones to switch BBIDs? 

Can you install other aapps from App World with these same phones?

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Developer
Posts: 676
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha & PlayBook
My Carrier: wifi

Re: Changed Package ID and forgot old one?

Can install other apps.

I used the method described here to switch BBID, took a while to figure out. http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-App-World-General/My-smartphone-is-associated-with...
_________________________________________________________
co-founder of Diaree | BB Dev for PictureThis
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-15-2012
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Changed Package ID and forgot old one?

I think that part of the problem is that once application is uploaded to AppWorld and approved for download/sale then bar file can't be downloaded by developer.

 

I have same issue... just changed application name and id and didn't have a copy of the old one and trying to resolve that, but it goes slow.

 

Why not to allow downloading bar files from Vendor Portal? at the end of the day I did upload that application first and sometimes might be a need to download it again for example to examine if someone wiped package.

 

It would save so much problems for everyone to do just simple click "Download bar file" in Vendor Portal.

Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Changed Package ID and forgot old one?

Downloading the entire BAR file seems a bit overkill when all you really need access to is the MANIFEST.MF file. Perhaps listing the MANIFEST values in the portal would be sufficient? If this works then I would suggest logging the request in Issue Tracker:

https://www.blackberry.com/jira/secure/Dashboard.jspa

 

A solution to use currently would be to save the MANIFEST.MF file locally or subversion your development to keep track of these changes.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-15-2012
My Device: PlayBook
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Changed Package ID and forgot old one?

Just trying to think about easiest possibility to make it available for developers Smiley Happy

Registering issue now in issue tracker.